Can't go above 1.5Mhz bandwidth or choppy audio

Post your feedback here
rack201
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2016 12:39 am

Can't go above 1.5Mhz bandwidth or choppy audio

Postby rack201 » Mon Dec 26, 2016 12:58 am

Hi All,

New to the SDRplay and have just received an RSP2. I'm running SDRuno under Windows 8.1 on a 64bit laptop, core i-5 with 8gig of RAM, 2 cores.

In SDRuno, if I set SR (Mhz) to anything above 2Mhz which gives me an IF BW of 1.536Mhz I get chopped up audio. The Sys utlization reported in SDRuno looks ok (around 50%) and Task Manager shows the CPU at around 20% (not sure the difference between these two values). I see other posts referencing to turn PERF of, but I don't see this in the version I am running (latest?).

Also would like to understand if its possible for me to set both SR and IFBW independently as I cant see how to do this.
Last edited by rack201 on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

g1hbe
Posts: 184
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 3:28 pm
Location: Cheshire

Re: Can't go above 1.5Mhz bandwidth or choppy audio

Postby g1hbe » Mon Dec 26, 2016 11:13 am

Strange. I run my RSP2 with SDRUno on my 'shack laptop' without any problem at all SR's and decs. The laptop is a secondhand Win 8 enterprise machine with an i3-3110m processor (2 core) at around 2.4 GHz with 4 Gig of RAM and SDRUno coasts along without any significant CPU loading (maybe 15% tops when using just one VRX), so I'm wondering why yours is having a problem. It may be worth looking to see if you have a lot of processes running in the background, or if your virus/malware protection is one of those that is always running. I know one thing that caused my old Win7 laptop a load of slowdown was the Windows Update stuff constantly looking for new updates. That was a known bug on Win7 though.
If you haven't already, join the SDRPlay Facebook group, there are plenty of PC-savvy people on there and they are a great bunch who will help if they can. Good luck with it.

Reason: No reason
Andy

rack201
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2016 12:39 am

Re: Initial impressions - great!

Postby rack201 » Wed Dec 28, 2016 10:53 pm

Thanks for the reply. It seems to be related to the level of zoom I have set on the spectrum windows. If I have multiple VRXs running (2-3) and zoom any of them in to the maximum, the audio drops occurs. Anything lower than full zoom and I can run a higher sample rate no problem.

I am wrapped with the SDRplay and the SDRuno software. Only had it a few days and have been able to monitor marine VHF, decode AIS and ADS-B, DAB radio. I threw up a quick dipole cut for 40 meters with some old speaker wire on the back veranda and have been able to receive from all over Australia (where I am currently) as well as Puerto Rico!
Last edited by rack201 on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

NoelC
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2016 11:50 pm

Re: Can't go above 1.5Mhz bandwidth or choppy audio

Postby NoelC » Sat Dec 31, 2016 2:30 am

Try upping the sample rate (labeled "SR (MHz)" in the MAIN panel.

-Noel
Last edited by NoelC on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

NoelC
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2016 11:50 pm

Re: Can't go above 1.5Mhz bandwidth or choppy audio

Postby NoelC » Sat Dec 31, 2016 4:21 am

Sorry, I meant "reduce" the SR.

-Noel
Last edited by NoelC on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason


Return to “New Users' experiences”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest