New to SDR, Quite Happy with the RSP1

Post your feedback here
NoelC

New to SDR, Quite Happy with the RSP1

Post by NoelC » Sat Dec 31, 2016 4:13 am

I've been listening to radio for over 50 years, and from the first time I saw a waterfall display this past year I knew I had to have an SDR. Browsing WebSDR sites sufficed for a little while, but that has its limitations, not least of which it's someone else's radio spectrum a long way from home - not what's here.

I read what I could, talked to some Hams I know, and finally ordered my RSP1 in December. It was shipped literally the same day the RSP2 was announced publicly. Oh well - I'd have bought the RSP2 but in fact I'm quite happy with the RSP1.

I did some planning and online research and bought a good quality LNR Precision EF-SWL antenna kit and ordered some low loss Bury-Flex coax fitted with PL-259 connectors. I even thought to buy an SO-238 to SMA adapter to get the signals into the RSP1 box.

But the one thing I DIDN'T think to get was a good USB A Male to B Male cable with RF chokes. That's presently on order, though to be perfectly honest a cable I had without chokes is actually working pretty well. I might not even think I needed a better one but for reading online that it helps increase SNR.

I followed the instructions and the SDRuno software installed onto my Dell workstation running Win 8.1 easily and without incident.

Before having put the antenna outside I had strung it around the room, and I was initially somewhat disappointed with the overall results. The reasons were these:

1. The antenna was of course not optimally set up to receive signals, but also it was in a quite noisy (RF-wise) environment (multiple computers, many small power supplies, and old plasma TV, etc.). Result: Lots of noise, few signals.