Page 1 of 1

CubicSDR working fine, Gqrx not so good.

Posted: Fri Jan 27, 2017 9:06 pm
by deadite66
Just got my rsp2 pro this week got it this week but having problems with gqrx.
the bandwidth seems to be all in that centre part, i don'e see anything either side of it despite it being in the FM radio band.
any ideas?

running on Antergos (Arch based) Linux.
libsdrplay 2.09.1
gr-osmosdr-nonfree-git 0.1.4.75
gqrx-git 20170118

Image

Re: CubicSDR working fine, Gqrx not so good.

Posted: Sat Jan 28, 2017 8:31 am
by DK7OB
I am running gqrx with the soapysdr (not the gr.osmosdr non free) driver and have seen this same behavior.

gqrx sets the default bandwidth to 0 and expects that in this case the driver calculates the optimum bandwidth for the configured sample rate (I think that's a gnu-radio convention). With soapysdr this did not work, the driver selected a very small bandwidth.

Maybe it's the same with the gr-osmosdr sdrplay driver.

Try to set the bandwidth manually to a value that matches the sample rate. This might work.

Re: CubicSDR working fine, Gqrx not so good.

Posted: Sat Jan 28, 2017 9:26 am
by deadite66
Thanks that did the trick with gnuradio, bandwidth setting doesn't seem to work with the soapy driver though.
gqrx seems to be too glitchy with the gnuradio driver, the noise floor keep jumping up and down still you can see the lines in my image above.

hope Cubic adds recording support soon.

Re: CubicSDR working fine, Gqrx not so good.

Posted: Sat Jan 28, 2017 4:44 pm
by deadite66
Got soapy working with gqrx needed to change the driver string to 'driver=sdrplay,soapy=0' now to work out how to change the antenna.

Re: CubicSDR working fine, Gqrx not so good.

Posted: Sat Jan 28, 2017 7:12 pm
by DK7OB
deadite66 wrote:Got soapy working with gqrx needed to change the driver string to 'driver=sdrplay,soapy=0' now to work out how to change the antenna.
Seems to be unsupported:

Code: Select all

/*******************************************************************
 * Antenna API
 ******************************************************************/

std::vector<std::string> SoapySDRPlay::listAntennas(const int direction, const size_t channel) const
{
    std::vector<std::string> antennas;
    antennas.push_back("RX");
    return antennas;
}

void SoapySDRPlay::setAntenna(const int direction, const size_t channel, const std::string &name)
{
    // TODO
}

std::string SoapySDRPlay::getAntenna(const int direction, const size_t channel) const
{
    return "RX";
}

Can you change antenna with CubicSDR?
I have the RSP1 so I can't test.

Re: CubicSDR working fine, Gqrx not so good.

Posted: Sat Jan 28, 2017 7:22 pm
by deadite66
DK7OB wrote:Can you change antenna with CubicSDR?
I have the RSP1 so I can't test.
yes i can.

Code: Select all

 <ant_sel>Antenna B</ant_sel>
is in the cubic config file.
wonder if it's just enough to change the string to 'driver=sdrplay,soapy=0,ant_sel=Antenna B'

EDIT: no, gqrx doesn't accept it.

Image

Re: CubicSDR working fine, Gqrx not so good.

Posted: Sun Apr 09, 2017 3:06 pm
by deadite66
Trying out an alternate soapysdrplay repo.
https://github.com/fcrohas/SoapySDRPlay

adds antenna A,B and HiZ :D

Image

Re: CubicSDR working fine, Gqrx not so good.

Posted: Sun May 14, 2017 5:09 pm
by deadite66
Seem to have fixed along standing problem with stability in linux today, always had read glitches and would eventually end in a segfault involving libusb.
disappointing when you have a nice haswell rig.

i bought a usb3 pcie card and fingers crossed it's ran for hours without a single glitch.