Grumbly audio with 0 IF but ok with offset IF.

Post your feedback here
JayDubya
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 11:50 pm

Grumbly audio with 0 IF but ok with offset IF.

Postby JayDubya » Wed Oct 07, 2015 12:07 am

The subject says it all for the most part... Grumbly audio with 0 IF but ok with offset IF.

I'm using W7, dual core CPU, HDSDR and have the SDRplay connected directly to the USB and in general the unit works great with offset IF setting but in the Zero IF mode there is a grumbly buzz near 100 HZ. The CPU meter is always below 30% and there is plenty of ram so I don't think the computer is being overloaded.

Just curious if this a common problem or my unit is a bit flaky.

John KB0NE
Last edited by JayDubya on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

g1hbe
Posts: 228
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 3:28 pm
Location: Cheshire

Re: Grumbly audio with 0 IF but ok with offset IF.

Postby g1hbe » Wed Oct 07, 2015 11:01 am

Sounds strange. Are you sure your PC is up to the job? Try reducing the span to something like 1.5 MHz or 600 KHz and see if it clears up. The only other thing that springs to mind is that you may be listening to a transmission that you have positioned on top of the central DC spike. Clutching at straws here....
Last edited by g1hbe on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason
Andy

NN4F
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 1:54 pm
Location: Ridgeville, SC
Contact:

Re: Grumbly audio with 0 IF but ok with offset IF.

Postby NN4F » Sun Oct 11, 2015 6:59 am

John any mode or all modes any particular bands? and like G1hbe saidm are you tuned off the LO frequency?

Paul
Last edited by NN4F on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason
--
Paul Jones - NN4F, Charleston SC
http://www.facebook.com/groups/SDRPlay


Return to “New Users' experiences”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest