RSP1 vs RSP1A using SDR Console V3

Post your feedback here
sv9rxw
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 5:59 pm

RSP1 vs RSP1A using SDR Console V3

Postby sv9rxw » Fri Feb 16, 2018 6:08 pm

Greetings,

I just received the RSP1A and used it. I have also the previous RSP1 and I compared the two using SDR-Console V3. The same AM station signal at 5.955 MHz with RSP1 is at -49 - -50dBm average, whereas using RSP1A the signal is at -71 - 72dB avergage.

Settings for RSP1: RF Gain = Maximum, IF Gain = -45 dB (Manual), Bandwidth = 8 MHz.
Settings for RSP1A: RF Gain = 0 Max, IF Gain = -40 dB (Manual), Bandwidth = 8 MHz.

How can this happen? Am I doing something wrong?


RSP1 image:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1qkkIE6 ... K94YvQsSB/

RSP1A image:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1b56bW ... HR-VIpRS_-

This behavior is the same on all bands from 1kHz to 1GHz.

Any response will be highly appreciated.

Best regards
Last edited by sv9rxw on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

Roger
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 7:59 pm

Re: RSP1 vs RSP1A using SDR Console V3

Postby Roger » Fri Feb 16, 2018 6:36 pm

SDR-Console does not display actual dBm levels at the antenna input - only relative levels. The author of SDR-Console has not calibrated his software for actual dBm levels at the antenna input.

SDRuno is the only software package that shows the true signal level in dBm at the antenna input. You can change the RF Gain and the IF gain and SDRuno will still show the actual dBm level.

Reason: No reason

sv9rxw
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 5:59 pm

Re: RSP1 vs RSP1A using SDR Console V3

Postby sv9rxw » Fri Feb 16, 2018 6:58 pm

Yes, I was hopping that SDR-Console gain calculation was the problem, but unfortunately the same happens using
SDRUno.

The following screenshot link shows RSP1 vs RSP1A tuned at 430 kHz to receive a nearby NDB.
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1s22eA ... 4-4vDdKLaf

Both experiments are done using the exact same settings at bandwidth 8 MHz.

As it is shown, the difference is 9dB.
Last edited by sv9rxw on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

sdrplay
Posts: 848
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 7:58 am

Re: RSP1 vs RSP1A using SDR Console V3

Postby sdrplay » Fri Feb 16, 2018 8:41 pm

The image on the right is with a RSP1, the Main Window is not right for RSP1A

Please also show the spectrum, as that will show the relationship of the LO to the VFO

Best regards,

SDRplay Support

Reason: No reason


Return to “New Users' experiences”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests