Page 1 of 1

RSP1a and BIAS-T

Posted: Mon May 07, 2018 2:36 am
by ekendraed
In the RSP1a is the BIAS-T switched ON or OFF from within SDRUNO?

Re: RSP1a and BIAS-T

Posted: Mon May 07, 2018 11:40 am
by g1hbe
Yes, I believe there is a button in the 'main' window.

Re: RSP1a and BIAS-T

Posted: Mon May 07, 2018 11:58 am
by ekendraed
Noted. Thank you

Otherwise the RSP1a could be damaged if connected to a SLIM JIM like receiving antenna.

4S7EF

Re: RSP1a and BIAS-T

Posted: Mon May 07, 2018 12:08 pm
by g1hbe
I think there is an over-current trip which turns off the bias-T if more than 100mA is drawn. From the datasheet:

4.7V /100mA Guaranteed.
Note : Bias T has an over current protection circuit. Current in excess of 100mA will cause the
bias T voltage to disable. Removal of the overcurrent condition and a reset of the bias T
control will re-establish the voltage

Re: RSP1a and BIAS-T

Posted: Mon May 07, 2018 12:17 pm
by ekendraed
Thank you

Re: RSP1a and BIAS-T

Posted: Tue May 22, 2018 1:58 am
by ekendraed
Mike SDR has confirmed that it is POLY FUSED and that NO HARM will come to the Bias-T port.

"A "polyfuse" is a fuse made from a polymer. It is a fuse that after it has "blown" will self heal; that is after several days, it will (almost) behave as if nothing has happened. "

For further reading see "https://elinux.org/Polyfuses_explained"

Thanks Mike.

Re: RSP1a and BIAS-T

Posted: Tue May 22, 2018 7:20 am
by Tech_Support
Err, there is a bit of confusion here. The Bias-T is not poly-fused. It has an overcurrent reset on it. Drawing too much current will simply shut the bias-T down. To get it back on you need to cycle the control for it, but it will turn back on instantly.

Sincerely

SDRplay Tech_Support

Re: RSP1a and BIAS-T

Posted: Tue May 22, 2018 7:34 am
by ekendraed
Thank you for the correction and clarification. 4S7EF