AM Broadcast Band is Quiet

Discussions about everything to do with SDRuno
Alan1
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 3:29 am

AM Broadcast Band is Quiet

Postby Alan1 » Fri Oct 21, 2016 3:47 am

Hi,
I am not seeing/hearing anything on the AM broadcast band. Wondering, what is the trick? I am able to hear the FM broadcast, a slight WWV signal on 15MHz, just not AM. Any help is appreciated. I am using a 100ft long wire with an an antenna tuner.
Thank you,
Alan
Last edited by Alan1 on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

Misterj
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2016 6:40 pm

Re: AM Broadcast Band is Quiet

Postby Misterj » Fri Oct 21, 2016 3:54 pm

Alan1, I can tune several local AM stations for 590 - 1490 kHz. I am not good at getting the best audio and I am using just a short, about 12 cm, vertical inside. I think the best idea is for you to post screenshots of your Main and RX Control windows so others can make suggestions. Enjoy, John.

Reason: No reason

Alan1
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 3:29 am

Re: AM Broadcast Band is Quiet

Postby Alan1 » Mon Oct 24, 2016 12:18 pm

Hi John,
Thanks for the reply! Since away currently, I am not able to get a screenshot. Based on your response though, it does not sound like a single setting causing it. When back, I will look again at the system and see what I can find. If nothing, I will send the screenshot. Thanks again for the response.
Alan
Last edited by Alan1 on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

NN4F
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 1:54 pm
Location: Ridgeville, SC
Contact:

Re: AM Broadcast Band is Quiet

Postby NN4F » Mon Oct 24, 2016 9:15 pm

Alan1 wrote:Hi,
I am not seeing/hearing anything on the AM broadcast band. Wondering, what is the trick? I am able to hear the FM broadcast, a slight WWV signal on 15MHz, just not AM. Any help is appreciated. I am using a 100ft long wire with an an antenna tuner.
Thank you,
Alan


Alan,

It could be your tuner blocking the signals, try AM without your tuner, my 160m dipole can be deaf on AM when tuned for a higher band...
Just give it a quick try without the tuner inline...

Paul - NN4F

Reason: No reason
--
Paul Jones - NN4F, Charleston SC
http://www.facebook.com/groups/SDRPlay


Return to “SDRuno”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests