SDRUno recording settings?

Discussions about everything to do with SDRuno
sjk1000
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2016 9:03 am

SDRUno recording settings?

Postby sjk1000 » Thu Mar 02, 2017 4:24 pm

Hi all

I'm trying to record some CW but can't seem to get the settings right.

I've set the recording directory, and the LO and VFO freqs are identical. I tune to a good strong signal, get the noise to an acceptable level, then press record. When I listen back to the file it seems that SDRuno hasn't recorded the output that I heard. What am I missing?

Thanks, Steve
Last edited by sjk1000 on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

g1hbe
Posts: 241
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 3:28 pm
Location: Cheshire

Re: SDRUno recording settings?

Postby g1hbe » Thu Mar 02, 2017 8:50 pm

Hi Steve.
I can't answer your recording question, but the LO and the 'tuned' frequency should not be the same as this will put the received signal right on top of the local oscillator, which causes noise and distortion especially on weak signals. The received sig should always be off to one side of the centre.

Reason: No reason
Andy

hfaero
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2016 8:24 pm

Re: SDRUno recording settings?

Postby hfaero » Thu Mar 02, 2017 10:08 pm

If your signal of interest is 7012kHz and you are using a 2MHz bandwidth you could place the LO at say 6500kHz, well out of the way, although I guess if the LO were placed at 7000kHz you'd get the same result. Just put the LO a few kHz away from your SOI and you should be good. This applies to all tuning, whether decoding CW or listening to SSB/AM.

Standard Operating Procedure (SOP).

Reason: No reason
Cheers,
Michael
HFAero.com
Ex-RSP1 and RSP2 Owner
Kenwood R-5000 and Longwire (9:1 Un-Un)
RTL-SDR v3
Kenwood R-5000 VHF & Diamond D130J Discone

13dka
Posts: 136
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2016 8:40 am

Re: SDRUno recording settings?

Postby 13dka » Fri Mar 03, 2017 2:31 am

As long you're in Low IF mode, LO frequency=tuner frequency should not matter. Where (what program) are you trying to play the recorded file? Unfortunately SDRuno doesn't record audio files (yet), only I/Q files so you can only play them back in SDRuno (and possibly other SDR software).

Reason: No reason

sjk1000
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2016 9:03 am

Re: SDRUno recording settings?

Postby sjk1000 » Fri Mar 03, 2017 1:55 pm

Thanks for the replies

Ah, I need to go back to my ham intermediate training to appreciate the LO/VFO. Thanks for that.

Ah, again, I assumed the recording panel was for recording the very narrow audio output that I could hear. Am I right in saying that I/Q recording takes a much larger sample of the bandwidth? That's a bit exciting if that's the case.

And finally, if I just wanted to record the output from the soundcard I assume audacity does that job, or is there something lighter?

Steve
Last edited by sjk1000 on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

W9KJO
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2016 3:38 pm

Re: SDRUno recording settings?

Postby W9KJO » Fri Mar 03, 2017 2:49 pm

How does one set the recording file location? Ive been looking for this.

W9KJO

Reason: No reason

octave9
Posts: 59
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2017 7:54 pm

Re: SDRUno recording settings?

Postby octave9 » Fri Mar 03, 2017 6:54 pm

I had some fun with recording last night. You can start a recording by simply pressing * on the keyboard (when Uno has the focus). There's no indication that recording has started (unless I missed it), but you'll be getting large files in your 'My Documents' folder, unless you've changed where they are to go.

You can change where they go by right clicking in the Record panel and you play them in the software with 'Select Input' - 'WAV File' (which opens a file browser) from the 'Opt' dialog on the 'Main' window.

Files get big quickly if you're using 10Mb sample rate.

Reason: No reason

W9KJO
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2016 3:38 pm

Re: SDRUno recording settings?

Postby W9KJO » Sat Mar 04, 2017 5:55 pm

In the recording panel how do you select a file for playback and then play it? When I hit the play button it does not give me any indication to select a file to play back.

W9KJO

Reason: No reason

octave9
Posts: 59
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2017 7:54 pm

Re: SDRUno recording settings?

Postby octave9 » Sat Mar 04, 2017 8:30 pm

I don't think you can select one there. It has to be done with 'Select Input' - 'WAV File' (as above).

It's a great feature and I read somewhere that file sizes will be able to exceed the current 4GB 'WAV' limit in a future update.

Reason: No reason

W9KJO
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2016 3:38 pm

Re: SDRUno recording settings?

Postby W9KJO » Sun Mar 05, 2017 3:58 pm

When I make a recording, and perhaps then make another recording, how do I select a file to play back? or how do I play back any file?

I may have missed this before or maybe did not realize what I was reading. Please help this sometimes slow ham. LOL

W9KJO 73

Reason: No reason


Return to “SDRuno”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests