Page 1 of 1

SDRuno freezes

Posted: Sat Sep 09, 2017 12:04 pm
by wolfdd
Hello,
often I have the problem that SDRuno freezes after I change from listening on Shortwave to FM. On HF I usually use Low-IF with IF AGC off. When I'm finished I set it back to IF AGC on and Zero-IF. Then I click on a FM station in the Mem-Panel. The result often is a freeze. The waterfall smears down and the spectrum is frozen. Sometimes I can fix this by clicking StOP and PLAY!, but in most times I have to kill the task and restart SDRuno. If I change the frequencies manually there is no problem.
My System is: Win 10, 64bit, 16 GB Ram
Regards
Wolfgang

Re: SDRuno freezes

Posted: Sat Sep 09, 2017 2:24 pm
by mikexeno
Make sure power management is disabled on the USB ports. This guide is for 7 but also applies to 10.

http://www.sdrplay.com/docs/SDRuno_Windows7.pdf

Re: SDRuno freezes

Posted: Sun Sep 10, 2017 1:24 pm
by wolfdd
I changed the settings as described, but no change. I made some further tests and maybe can give a clue.

In my Tests I tuned to a SW Station in the 22m band with SAM mode and antenna HiZ. Via Mem-Panel I changed to a local FM Broadcast station. Because of the high input signal I set this station to Ant B, which is meant for higher frequencies and so gives a lower FM signal. When I click this entry, SDRuno freezes at once. Main Panel shows Ant A instead of B. I guess that SDRuno first looks at the frequency and if its higher than 30 mhz it switches to Ant A. The Mem-Panel entry for the antenna B is handled after the tuning to the frequency. This way an overload results in the freeze. Until this is solved I now use weaker stations when switching from SW to FM and everything is OK.

Re: SDRuno freezes

Posted: Sat Sep 16, 2017 4:11 pm
by mikexeno
Have you tried running the SDRuno reset via MAIN module/OPT button?

Re: SDRuno freezes

Posted: Sat Sep 23, 2017 10:38 am
by wolfdd
Yes I tried that, but it made no change.

Re: SDRuno freezes

Posted: Sat Sep 23, 2017 1:52 pm
by mikexeno
Is the USB cable a known working cable?
Can you try switching USB ports?

Bypass using front panel USB ports (on the front of the computer) and or using USB hubs

Tripp Lite USB 2.0 Hi-Speed A/B Cable with Ferrite Chokes (M/M) 6-ft.
https://www.amazon.com/Tripp-Lite-Hi-Sp ... ith+chokes

Tripp Lite USB 2.0 Hi-Speed A/B Cable with Ferrite Chokes (M/M) 3-ft
https://www.amazon.com/Tripp-Li

Re: SDRuno freezes

Posted: Sat Sep 23, 2017 2:38 pm
by g1hbe
A similar problem is mentioned in this thread:

viewtopic.php?f=7&t=2443

There seems to be a small bug in the antenna switching or gain control sections which can cause an 'out of range' error and a freeze. I believe the good chaps are looking into it and will sort it out ready for the next software issue.

Re: SDRuno freezes

Posted: Sun Sep 24, 2017 2:47 pm
by DF1KZ
I have the same problem as wolfdd using "HDSDR with RSP2" rev. 2.76 . Sometimes when I switch between antenna "High Z" and antenna "A" using ExtIO HDSDR freezes. I have to stop and start again then everything works fine. Seems to be a little bug in the antenna-switching.

Wolfgang (DF1KZ)