Page 1 of 1

SDRuno with CW Skimmer

Posted: Wed Jan 17, 2018 2:38 pm
by Dec1963
Hi,

has anybody run SDRuno with CW Skimmer. There are a few videos on YouTube showing how to get the RSP1 to use CW Skimmer but they all seem to be using SDR Console etc rather than SDRuno

Declan

Re: SDRuno with CW Skimmer

Posted: Thu Jan 18, 2018 1:31 am
by Roger
SDRuno does NOT provide IQ output to external programs so CW Skimmer will be limited to decoding CW signals in an audio (i.e. 3 kHz. channel) using a Virtual Audio Cable like VB Cable. If you use SDR-Console V3 or HDSDR they can output IQ samples to CW Skimmer and you can decode a much wider bandwidth like 48 or 96 kHz.

IQ output from SDRuno planned for the next release - version 1.23 as follows....

1.23 Intermediate update
• Recording of selected signal only (either I/Q or audio) to WAV file format
• Selected signal piped to VAC in I/Q format

Re: SDRuno with CW Skimmer

Posted: Thu Jan 18, 2018 11:08 am
by Dec1963
Hi Roger,

thanks for the reply. Indeed I've found several examples of how to do as you suggest on YouTube. I look forward to the updated SDRuno which will include the IQ output feature.

Regards

Declan

Re: SDRuno with CW Skimmer

Posted: Wed Feb 07, 2018 12:30 am
by johnhlong
We here in Utah are also looking forward to I/Q support.

Is there an estimated release date?

1 week, 1 month, 1 year Etc?


John
KW7A

Re: SDRuno with CW Skimmer

Posted: Sat Feb 24, 2018 10:58 pm
by McTernan
I too look forward to an update to SDRplay so I can use it with CW Skimmer. I'm setting up an RBN node and don't have an SDR that works well with Skimmer.

I don't know how the information is formatted, but is it possible to take the output from SDRplay and format into a wide-band format that CW Skimmer can digest? Maybe trick Skimmer into thinking that we have a Flex connected and pipe in data from SDRplay? I don't want to rely on an update from SDRplay to solve this (though I read on another post that an update is coming).

KN4EZR
Huntsville, AL

Re: SDRuno with CW Skimmer

Posted: Sun Feb 25, 2018 9:14 pm
by Roger
McTernan wrote:I too look forward to an update to SDRplay so I can use it with CW Skimmer. I'm setting up an RBN node and don't have an SDR that works well with Skimmer.

I don't know how the information is formatted, but is it possible to take the output from SDRplay and format into a wide-band format that CW Skimmer can digest? Maybe trick Skimmer into thinking that we have a Flex connected and pipe in data from SDRplay? I don't want to rely on an update from SDRplay to solve this (though I read on another post that an update is coming).

KN4EZR
Huntsville, AL


Why not just use HDSDR or SDR-Console to feed IQ data to CW Skimmer? Both work with RSP1, RSP1A and RSP2. After a few minutes with either of these programs you will be running wideband CW Skimmer...

Re: SDRuno with CW Skimmer

Posted: Sun Feb 25, 2018 11:32 pm
by johnhlong
That is correct.

I have tried it and it works great, only I prefer the look and feel of SDRuno. :roll: