Problem with SDRUno and RTL-SDR stick.

Discussions about everything to do with SDRuno
sm0yyq
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2016 9:46 am

Problem with SDRUno and RTL-SDR stick.

Postby sm0yyq » Thu Jun 30, 2016 10:01 am

Hello all.

Tried to install SDRUno on my Windows 7 64bit im using right now.
But i have problem to get it to work with my RTL Dongle. :/
I have tried to install all kind of RTL EXTIO plugins i can find on the net but SDRUno doesent reqognize whem.

Can it be the SDRUno is 32 bit and the EXTIO plugin seem to be 64 bit.?

I have no ideas :/
Last edited by sm0yyq on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

sdjack
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2016 10:13 pm

Re: Problem with SDRUno and RTL-SDR stick.

Postby sdjack » Thu Jun 30, 2016 3:39 pm

Did you install the Zadig driver first?
Last edited by sdjack on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

sm0yyq
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2016 9:46 am

Re: Problem with SDRUno and RTL-SDR stick.

Postby sm0yyq » Fri Jul 01, 2016 7:30 am

Yes, .. i did...
Last edited by sm0yyq on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

GrahamC
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2016 4:59 pm

Re: Problem with SDRUno and RTL-SDR stick.

Postby GrahamC » Sat Jul 02, 2016 11:28 pm

for SDRuno ver 1.01 or greater, you will need to put the rtlxxxx.dll's in your "my documents" folder.

there was a minor fix from ver 1.00 to 1.01 in order for SDRuno to use the "my documents" folder for storage of VRX's. It had the side effect that for any other hardware which uses a xxxxx.dll that you also need to put that .dll in the "my documents" as well.

Perhaps we will see a fix for this in a future release. In the meantime, I have put my xxxx.dll's in the "my documents" folder and in the SDRuno folder.

cheers, Graham ve3gtc
Last edited by GrahamC on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

tomas112
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 9:25 am

Re: Problem with SDRUno and RTL-SDR stick.

Postby tomas112 » Tue Aug 30, 2016 3:05 pm

Last edited by tomas112 on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

User avatar
df1ech
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2016 5:40 pm
Location: Maaseik
Contact:

Re: Problem with SDRUno and RTL-SDR stick.

Postby df1ech » Sun Oct 30, 2016 8:43 am

Required .dll for RTL-SDR dongles is provided, so if you didn't fiddle with installation folder, main software and .dll should be under Program Files => SDRplay => SDRuno.

Locate a file called ExtIO_RTL23327424.dll, then copy-paste this into your Documents folder (might be called My Documents).
RTL-SDR dongles will not work without this step, so once more:
Copy ExtIO_RTL23327424.dll into My Documents folder.


I do not have this file after a clean install of the 1.04 version.
I also spent several hours of finding a working extio but wasn't able to find any.

It comes to the point that I have multiple extio's in my-documents as well as in the sdr uno directory and on start of the sdruno.extio it asks me to select the extio I want to use. after selecting any of them there is still only a sound card available in the input device selection. I had one version which actually added an entry to select but that was a name like "#$JSD(#SOL#@&!" (AbraCadaBra) and ofc crashed uno after trying to enable it.

I did try this on 2 separate computers both with the dongles working in multiple other SDR programs.

Reason: No reason
God knows all, Menace knows more.
¯\_(ツ)_/¯

sdrplay
Posts: 542
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 7:58 am

Re: Problem with SDRUno and RTL-SDR stick.

Postby sdrplay » Sun Oct 30, 2016 9:34 am

I think the problem is finding the EXTIO that is compatible with the RTL device as there are a few different types. I used the one from here (http://www.rtl-sdr.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=582) and it works fine with SDRuno 1.04 and my particular RTL device.

However, I did have to mess about with Zadig (even though I have done so on this machine before) before it would actually recognise the RTL device - not sure why.

Please be very careful downloading DLLs (even the one listed above) - please make sure all files are virus checked and if you are still not sure then don't download. I couldn't find a central repository for all the EXTIO dlls for the RTL device which is a shame.

Best regards,

SDRplay Support

Reason: No reason

User avatar
df1ech
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2016 5:40 pm
Location: Maaseik
Contact:

Re: Problem with SDRUno and RTL-SDR stick.

Postby df1ech » Sun Oct 30, 2016 12:18 pm

The one I was using is one that is Working in several other tools for both of my RTL sticks (e4000 terratec and rtl-sdr.com v2 rt820t2 stick) also a v3 stick from my friend isn't working with any of them.

I'll retry with the one from that post.

Couldn't the problem be in x86-32 and x64 versions?

Reason: No reason
God knows all, Menace knows more.
¯\_(ツ)_/¯

sdrplay
Posts: 542
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 7:58 am

Re: Problem with SDRUno and RTL-SDR stick.

Postby sdrplay » Sun Oct 30, 2016 1:23 pm

HDSDR is a 32 bit application so I would think you will need the 32bit dll

Best regards,

SDRplay Support

Reason: No reason

User avatar
df1ech
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2016 5:40 pm
Location: Maaseik
Contact:

Re: Problem with SDRUno and RTL-SDR stick.

Postby df1ech » Sun Oct 30, 2016 6:55 pm

ExtIO_RTL2832.rar
Working ExtIO
(100.57 KiB) Downloaded 349 times
Yeah That one did it !
and it works for both of my sticks.

thanks!

Reason: No reason
God knows all, Menace knows more.
¯\_(ツ)_/¯


Return to “SDRuno”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests