EXTIO V2.1 Well done!

General discussions
User avatar
Stan
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2015 11:05 pm

EXTIO V2.1 Well done!

Postby Stan » Sat Jun 13, 2015 2:12 am

Works great!
I like the virtual sample rate option, quite helpful.
It still has the annoying problem of locking up my computer when using SDR# if I should try to tune to something greater than 2.1ghz.
All of my CPU cores usage jump to 100%, the computer slows down so bad the only way to recover without hitting the reset button is to wait for about 5 min for the computer shutdown.

Thanks,
Stan
Last edited by Stan on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

g1hbe
Posts: 195
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 3:28 pm
Location: Cheshire

Re: EXTIO V2.1 Well done!

Postby g1hbe » Sat Jun 13, 2015 8:30 am

Yes, 2.1 is a welcome improvement, especially the narrower spans without the cramped-up display. I have the same problem with tuning out of band - my laptop gets all sulky.
Last edited by g1hbe on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason
Andy

NN4F
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 1:54 pm
Location: Ridgeville, SC
Contact:

Re: EXTIO V2.1 Well done!

Postby NN4F » Wed Jun 17, 2015 2:56 am

Possible bug?

under HDSDR & SDR# when I hit load defaults with the radio running, I get a mirror image around the LO frequency, when I stop and start it goes back to a normal display? see attached image...

Paul
Attachments
defaultsscreen.JPG
defaultsscreen.JPG (162.65 KiB) Viewed 4229 times
Last edited by NN4F on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason
--
Paul Jones - NN4F, Charleston SC
http://www.facebook.com/groups/SDRPlay

CaptainNemo
Posts: 114
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 1:22 pm
Location: Genoa - Italy

Re: EXTIO V2.1 Well done!

Postby CaptainNemo » Wed Jun 17, 2015 1:00 pm

NN4F wrote:Possible bug?
... I get a mirror image around the LO frequency, when I stop and start it goes back to a normal display? ...


Hi all!
I get the same problem ("mirror spectrum") (in my case it seems to be independ from [LOAD DEFAULT]).
Unfortunately sometimes you need some time to realize you are in that situation.
Usually I stop and restart sdr# to get rid of this.

Someone knows what is the real sampling rate related to a virtual sampling rate?
In other word if I set SR = 0.2 what is the real SR?

I posted a "request" to have two different "controls" one for virtual and one for real sampling rate.
Anyone agree with me?

bye
nemo
Last edited by CaptainNemo on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

Tech_Support
Posts: 196
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 7:00 pm

Re: EXTIO V2.1 Well done!

Postby Tech_Support » Wed Jun 17, 2015 1:20 pm

Anything at 2 MS/s or above is the 'real sample rate' anything below that is effectively achieved by decimation (sample rate conversion), but the ADCs still run at 2MS/s and this data is passed across the USB interface.

We are investigating the issue first brought up by NN4F, but it appears to be a bug.

Yours sincerely

SDRplay Tech_Support
Last edited by Tech_Support on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

CaptainNemo
Posts: 114
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 1:22 pm
Location: Genoa - Italy

Re: EXTIO V2.1 Well done!

Postby CaptainNemo » Thu Jun 18, 2015 6:15 pm

It seems to me that in 2.1
ADC Setpoint parameter is no more working. Maybe I'm wrong...

(Having AGC enabled in the 2.1 plugin,
if I decrease setpoint let say from -15 to -30
the gain should decrease to "meet a lower ADC input target")

tnx in advance
Last edited by CaptainNemo on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

Tech_Support
Posts: 196
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 7:00 pm

Re: EXTIO V2.1 Well done!

Postby Tech_Support » Fri Jun 19, 2015 8:06 am

Hi CaptainNemo
You can't change the ADC set-point 'on-the-fly' in V2.1, but if you stop the play before changing the set-point and then re-start, it will function correctly. If changing the set-point on-the-fly for AGC is considered important we can certainly look into this for future releases.

Regards

SDRplay Tech_Support
Last edited by Tech_Support on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

CaptainNemo
Posts: 114
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 1:22 pm
Location: Genoa - Italy

Re: EXTIO V2.1 Well done!

Postby CaptainNemo » Fri Jun 19, 2015 10:42 am

tnx for your answer
It is NOT "vital" to fix this now.

To me is far more the scaling of display. I try to explain my problem.
Your idea to use "virtual sampling rate" is very clever but do not completely solve my problem.
I did some test
a) IFBw 200khz sr= 0.2 (vitual ---> real 2 MHz if I understand your previous answ. but not sure it is true 2 Mhz)(*)
b) IFBw 200khz sr= 2. 0 -- in this case I need to manually scale using sdr# zoom
c) IFBw 200khz sr= 4. 0 -- in this case I need to manually scale using sdr# zoom
Then I compared sdrplay with funcube pp (as you may now it has a sr of 192khz)
In test a) sdplay and fcpp performed quite the same
In test b) I got superior "detailed" images from sdrplay -- this is by the way the reason of my doubt at point (*)
In test c) I got even better performances.
Thats why I'm asking to split real sampling rate control from virtual sampling rate control (or find an other alternative...)

By the way in SDRSHARPER they found a nice way to do "zoom". There is a drop down list ad you select
how many range you want to put in the display...

Bye
Last edited by CaptainNemo on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

F1BJB
Posts: 100
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 4:24 pm
Location: Beauvais France

Re: EXTIO V2.1 Well done!

Postby F1BJB » Thu Jul 16, 2015 1:14 pm

This new version is much appreciated here too.
The lower virtual sampling rates allow applications mainly designed for audiocards SDR
to work nicely.. SODIRA in my case.
After all audio cards sampling at 8 Mhz are rare :)
Another advantage is that it allows I/Q recordings of much longuer duration in *.WAV containers.
Of course there is still room for improvement but,for me , the main one would be for EXTIOrtl.dll
to do the same thing :)
Last edited by F1BJB on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason


Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests