Page 1 of 2

Which Windows 10 SDR Software(s) Work with the RSP2?

Posted: Tue Aug 15, 2017 1:14 pm
by ultravista
I am looking for a list of Windows 10 software that is RSP2 compatible in addition to SDRuno, SDRSharp (older versions), and HDSDR.

Has anyone gotten ExpertSDR2 working with the RSP2?

I like SDRSharp but with the lack of support for the RSP2 in newer versions, I am looking for something else.

SDRUno just doesn't cut it for me. I don't like the lack of deep zoom (at least that I could do) on signals like SDRUno can do.

Re: Which Windows 10 SDR Software(s) Work with the RSP2?

Posted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 8:04 am
by vk7jj
Have you tried SDR-Console V3 preview?

It's a very nice app and Windows 10 is the author's preference OS.

It's user interface provides easy and intuitive adjustment of frequency and waterfall zoom, if that's what you're referring to, though everything takes time for it's best bits to sink in and be truly appreciated, including or maybe even especially SDRUno. :-)

SDR-Console is downloadable + driver on this SDRPlay site

http://www.sdrplay.com/downloads/

Re: Which Windows 10 SDR Software(s) Work with the RSP2?

Posted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 1:22 pm
by ultravista
Downloading SDR-Console V3 now. I thought SDRuno was the preferred RSP* application.

I am new to SDR, starting with the RTL-SDR V3, and really like the layout and granular zoom feature of SDRSharp. I can really zoom into the signal where it nearly fills the frequency and waterfall screens. SDRuno on the other hand, while it does have a zoom, only goes in a little bit - almost to the point where the zoom is pointless.

Do others have the same issue with the zoom or is it a user setting?

Will SDR-Console V3 work with the RTL-SDR V3 dongle?

Re: Which Windows 10 SDR Software(s) Work with the RSP2?

Posted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 10:24 pm
by vk3alb
Perhaps you could tell us how much zoom you need? I use SDRuno and can zoom in so the main display is 75KHz wide. For me, that is plenty enough to see individual SSB or CW transmissions.

Re: Which Windows 10 SDR Software(s) Work with the RSP2?

Posted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:00 pm
by g1hbe
Surely you don't need to zoom in so close on the main display? The IF display will show the tuned signal up really close without any need to zoom the main one. I usually leave the main window showing about 200KHz (2MHz SR and 8 times decimation) and If I need to look closely at the tuned signal I look at the IF window.

Re: Which Windows 10 SDR Software(s) Work with the RSP2?

Posted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:45 pm
by vk7jj
@ ultravista

Will SDR-Console V3 work with the RTL-SDR V3 dongle?



The SDR-Console v3 page below has a list of supported hardware, see 'radios' on the right

http://sdr-radio.com/v3_help

Re: Which Windows 10 SDR Software(s) Work with the RSP2?

Posted: Thu Aug 17, 2017 1:55 am
by ultravista
Zoom - it's hard to put into words how far I zoom. With SDRSharp, I can can slide the zoom very far into the signal until it becomes blocky (not that I need it that far).

With SDRuno, the zoom is only a few steps and the signal 'spikes' aren't very pronounced as they would be in SDRSharp.

Here is an example where the zoom is pronounced.

Image

Re: Which Windows 10 SDR Software(s) Work with the RSP2?

Posted: Thu Aug 17, 2017 3:12 am
by sdrplay
Currently the SDRuno zoom is affected by the window size. If you use Zero IF mode and use a sample rate of 2MHz with a decimation of 8, then right click on the bottom right corner of the SP1 window and select the smallest window size (528), then SDRuno can zoom into 3.9kHz of bandwidth.

If you right click on the bottom right corner of the SP1 window and select 1024 wide then the max zoom you will see is down to 7.7kHz of bandwidth.

This is a 32k FFT with a RBW of 1.91Hz

If you want to fill the display better with the signal, click on Sett. in the SP1 window and increase the Spectrum Range slider (you can also use the Spectrum Base slider to move the whole waveform if you need to.)

It really depends on what you are trying to do.

Best regards,

SDRplay Support

Re: Which Windows 10 SDR Software(s) Work with the RSP2?

Posted: Thu Aug 17, 2017 12:28 pm
by vk3alb
Thank you. That's some great insight you've passed on.

Re: Which Windows 10 SDR Software(s) Work with the RSP2?

Posted: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:31 pm
by Paul
What Andy said works very well for me - arrived at it independently.
The only difference is that I mostly start off with 250 K on the Sp1 display, sometimes reducing it a little to suit the area of spectrum that I'm looking at but for ultimate signal resolution, I can't imagine improving on the SP2 display.