Antenna A and B mixup on RSP 2

General discussions
Ambrose Wolfinger
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 3:13 am

Antenna A and B mixup on RSP 2

Postby Ambrose Wolfinger » Sat Dec 16, 2017 6:38 am

Hello everyone, I have an RSP 2 Pro I recently purchased. I have been using a long wire antenna plugged into the hi z port. However, as an experiment, I plugged a hand held antenna into the antenna B port. With antenna B selected in SDR Uno I don't receive anything, but if I select antenna A, I can receive signals on HF and VHF. Likewise, if I plug the antenna into port A, I have to select antenna B in SDR Uno.
Last edited by Ambrose Wolfinger on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

DF1KZ
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 1:37 pm

Re: Antenna A and B mixup on RSP 2

Postby DF1KZ » Sun Dec 17, 2017 11:15 am

Hello Ambrose,

Did you terminate Input A with 50 Ohms or did you leave it open?
Imho there is some (weak) internal coupling between the ports.

Wolfgang

Reason: No reason
SDRplay (RSP1, RSP1A, RSP2pro) with:
RFsystems DX-10 (14kHz to 50MHz), resistive splitter 1/4, 1:16 transformer on Hi-Z of RSP2
ICOM Discone AH-8000 (10MHz to 2GHz)
12m above ground

Ambrose Wolfinger
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 3:13 am

Re: Antenna A and B mixup on RSP 2

Postby Ambrose Wolfinger » Sun Dec 17, 2017 3:43 pm

I left it open, however last night I was able to measure 6.4 volts across the antenna a terminal with the Bias T activated. I contacted the support team and they offered several options including me opening the unit and swapping the terminals without affecting the warranty. This seems to be the simplest solution.
Last edited by Ambrose Wolfinger on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason


Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests