rtl_airband now with soapysdr support.

General discussions
deadite66
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 7:14 pm
Location: Norfolk, UK.

rtl_airband now with soapysdr support.

Postby deadite66 » Wed Jan 31, 2018 6:48 pm

the dev has added soapysdr support in the unstable branch so have it working with my rsp2 now.
the config files aren't the easiest to make but you get much lower cpu usage if you want to listen, stream or record.

supports AM/NFM, pulseaudio, icecast or shoutcast streaming and recording to mp3.
possibly something SDRPlay could consider adding to the raspberry pi iso.

https://github.com/szpajder/RTLSDR-Airband

Reason: No reason
RSP2 Pro and RSP1A owner.

deadite66
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 7:14 pm
Location: Norfolk, UK.

Re: rtl_airband now with soapysdr support.

Postby deadite66 » Mon Feb 19, 2018 6:41 pm

tip for anyone trying it try adding 'fft_size = 1024;' to the very top of the config file helped me with a few problems with NFM.
1. stopped audio distortion on a few channels (could also be too much gain though. check..)
2. stops it detecting up the adjacent 12.5k channel.

Reason: No reason
RSP2 Pro and RSP1A owner.

Snoopy
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat May 06, 2017 4:39 pm

Re: rtl_airband now with soapysdr support.

Postby Snoopy » Fri Feb 23, 2018 2:14 pm

Any chance you could help me with an example of a conf file to output to pulseaudio in order to listen localally on the same pi as the program is installed?

Thanks
Last edited by Snoopy on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason
VE3LGH

deadite66
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 7:14 pm
Location: Norfolk, UK.

Re: rtl_airband now with soapysdr support.

Postby deadite66 » Fri Feb 23, 2018 3:50 pm

sure, this is for 4 channels, recording to mp3 and pulse audio when a signal is detected.
https://paste.ubuntu.com/p/kxdWDk8VTw/

Reason: No reason
RSP2 Pro and RSP1A owner.

Snoopy
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat May 06, 2017 4:39 pm

Re: rtl_airband now with soapysdr support.

Postby Snoopy » Sun Feb 25, 2018 5:01 pm

Hi Deadite66
Tried your script and also tried several other varations. Keep getting an error "Configuration error: devices.[0] channels.[0] outputs[0]: unknown output type". Im using an rtlsdr at this point since my rsp2 in busy while i experiment with this but it is working with the default config file using icecast. I suspect the proble with output is related to my pulseaudio setup but so far havent found the issue. Just thought i woulsd update you. My 70 year old brain is still trying.... :D
Larry
Last edited by Snoopy on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason
VE3LGH


Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests