Noise?

General discussions
Joevano
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2018 1:44 pm

Noise?

Postby Joevano » Mon Oct 08, 2018 1:57 am

Total newbie here. I have an SDR Play1 connected to a discone at 25’ with LMR 400 to the lightening arrestor, and RG8X fed into the radio. I have noise on all bands as you can see in this pic. What is this from?
Attachments
AC31AD4E-74B5-4317-81D8-147DEE85B161.jpeg
AC31AD4E-74B5-4317-81D8-147DEE85B161.jpeg (67.88 KiB) Viewed 372 times

Reason: No reason

NK7Z
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2016 1:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Noise?

Postby NK7Z » Mon Oct 08, 2018 3:47 am

Probably a switching mode power supply... See:
https://www.nk7z.net/sdr-rfi-survey-p1/
for a bit on how to ID some of this stuff.

Also see:
https://www.nk7z.net/rfi-snapshots/

for an ever growing catalog iof RFI sources.

Reason: No reason

g1hbe
Posts: 363
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 3:28 pm
Location: Cheshire, UK

Re: Noise?

Postby g1hbe » Mon Oct 08, 2018 7:59 am

You won't get good signals on the HF bands from a standard discone, they are for VHF only. A long wire or dipole (depending on your circumstances) is more suitable. A low noise solution is an active loop like the Wellbrook 1530.

Reason: No reason
Andy


Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests