Recent SDR problems after windows 10 64 bit update.

General discussions
crite40

Recent SDR problems after windows 10 64 bit update.

Post by crite40 » Sun Jan 31, 2016 10:07 pm

Good day all!
I have been using SDR software for over 2 years now and have found it very good indeed.
In fact I published a design for an improved Receiver for SDR use in June 2014 in Silicon Chip
magazine.
Very recently another automatic update was installed on my computer and SDR# will no longer run.
I get the following cryptic message-
The application failed to start because its side-by-side configuration is incorrect.
2 approaches are suggested but neither is of any help.
In fact the command line sxtrace.exe is simply not recognised, in command mode.
Has anyone else had a similar problem?
I am an "old timer", but have been working with computers for over 50 years.
Even my son, who is a fully fledged computer software engineer hasn't come across this
problem before.
I have tried reinstalling and updating Visual C++ and all the other online suggestions
with no success at all. BTW, YES of course I have tried running both versions of Zadig
also.
Any ideas greatly appreciated.
Crite40
Last edited by crite40 on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

K4KDR

Re: Recent SDR problems after windows 10 64 bit update.

Post by K4KDR » Mon Feb 01, 2016 5:17 am

Greetings!

Like you, I've been doing this for a long time. So, I thought I would chime in with a couple of general things to consider from experience.

While it sounds obvious, sometimes I forget to check the Event Viewer logs. Once in a blue moon you can actually find something helpful in there... or at least get a hint that makes you think of something you have not looked at.