The station name thing

General discussions
g1hbe
Posts: 494
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 3:28 pm
Location: Cheshire, UK

The station name thing

Post by g1hbe » Fri Feb 19, 2016 8:25 pm

Apologies if I'm being thick (wouldn't be the first time) but what is meant to happen? I have the December 2015 API and the latest EXTIO (Feb 19) and the station name panel appears. Clicking around the SW broadcast stations I see nothing going on. The feature is ticked to enable it and it says the database is good, but nothing is happening. Is there any documentation to help me out?
Last edited by g1hbe on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason
Andy

sdrplay
Posts: 978
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 7:58 am

Re: The station name thing

Post by sdrplay » Sat Feb 20, 2016 4:54 pm

Hi g1hbe,

Here is the documentation: http://www.sdrplay.com/docs/sdrplay_ext ... de_v38.pdf

I've updated the Windows page to include a link to it. It's always available through the Help panel in the ExtIO plugin.

After you enable the station name system, you need to restart HDSDR.

Then tune the LO to 1MHz and then tune the VFO freq to 1170 - as long as you don't have any filters set in the station config panel you will see at least one radio station on that frequency.

If you don't, let us know.

Best regards,

SDRplay Support
Last edited by sdrplay on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

g1hbe
Posts: 494
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 3:28 pm
Location: Cheshire, UK

Re: The station name thing

Post by g1hbe » Sat Feb 20, 2016 6:02 pm

Thanks. I tried what you said and saw no change I'm afraid. One piece of info which I forgot to mention is that when I hover the mouse cursor over the selected frequency on the waterfall I see a tiny 'document' symbol appear at the cursor. But I never see a text pane popping up. It's like everything is present and correct but just not working!
Win8
EXTIO 3.8
API 1.8.1
Last edited by g1hbe on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason
Andy

Tech_Support
Posts: 499
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 7:00 pm

Re: The station name thing

Post by Tech_Support » Sat Feb 20, 2016 10:21 pm

Have you actually clicked the button on the main page of the ExtIO window?

If you don't actually click the button in the lower left hand corner of the main page above where it says:

SDRplay Ltd
Version 3.8 Build 0218

no pop out window will appear.

Sincerely

SDRplay Tech_Support
Last edited by Tech_Support on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

g1hbe
Posts: 494
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 3:28 pm
Location: Cheshire, UK

Re: The station name thing

Post by g1hbe » Sat Feb 20, 2016 11:37 pm

Aha! Any chance of a bigger button so that oafs like me won't miss it in future? :roll: It's very small and crammed into one corner, don't you think? Is this button mentioned anywhere? Many thanks for you help.
Last edited by g1hbe on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason
Andy

13dka
Posts: 136
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2016 8:40 am

Re: The station name thing

Post by 13dka » Sun Feb 21, 2016 11:18 am

After enabling station names in the menu and restarting HDSDR I'm getting this:
HDSDR_error_ExtIO18.png
HDSDR_error_ExtIO18.png (46.94 KiB) Viewed 8553 times
The plug-in no longer works and I have to roll back to 3.7. Windows 7 64-bit.
Last edited by 13dka on Sun Feb 21, 2016 11:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

sdrplay
Posts: 978
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 7:58 am

Re: The station name thing

Post by sdrplay » Sun Feb 21, 2016 11:41 am

Just been fixed - V3.8.1 on the website (http://www.sdrplay.com/windows.html)

Best regards,

SDRplay Support
Last edited by sdrplay on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

13dka
Posts: 136
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2016 8:40 am

Re: The station name thing

Post by 13dka » Sun Feb 21, 2016 11:58 am

Brilliant! Will try after breakfast. :)
Last edited by 13dka on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

13dka
Posts: 136
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2016 8:40 am

Re: The station name thing

Post by 13dka » Sun Feb 21, 2016 12:21 pm

Umm for some reason my previous post disappeared.

Anyway, not fixed here, new screenshot, same content:
HDSDR_error_ExtIO381.png
HDSDR_error_ExtIO381.png (30.59 KiB) Viewed 8546 times
Windows 7 x64
Last edited by 13dka on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

sdrplay
Posts: 978
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 7:58 am

Re: The station name thing

Post by sdrplay » Sun Feb 21, 2016 4:35 pm

can you post screenshot of EXTIO plugin GUI please

Thanks,

SDRplay
Last edited by sdrplay on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

Post Reply