SDRPlay with SDRuno. Dream not decoding DRM!

Post information or questions regarding SDRplay products here
surfking61
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2016 11:44 pm

SDRPlay with SDRuno. Dream not decoding DRM!

Postby surfking61 » Wed Sep 28, 2016 12:07 am

I have an SDRPlay and Uno running. I installed Dream to decode DRM. I installed the
faad2.drm.dll into the folder. Set the proper inputs and outputs with VB Cable and
my speakers. When I open dream and go to the evaluation tab in dream i get the
error' "No Audio Decoding Possible" I don't know what is wrong. Very frustrating.
I am new to this whole SDR thing and most of the decoding programs are a little
complicated so I though I would start with Dream and decoding DRM but not having
much luck. I am running windows 7 Pro 32-bit OS.

Reason: No reason

Misterj
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2016 6:40 pm

Re: SDRPlay with SDRuno. Dream not decoding DRM!

Postby Misterj » Wed Sep 28, 2016 12:52 am

surfking61, have you looked at the trouble shooting section here? Did you copy the .dll to the folder Dream is running from? Enjoy, John.

Reason: No reason

DanubeBCL
Posts: 160
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: SDRPlay with SDRuno. Dream not decoding DRM!

Postby DanubeBCL » Wed Sep 28, 2016 7:03 am

surfking61 wrote:I installed the faad2.drm.dll into the folder.
Just to make sure: The dll should be called libfaad2.dll. I have it running with Dream 1.13 (for media contens like French slide shows ;-)) and Dream 2.1.
In some earlier versions of Dream they called it faad2_drm.dll (just renaming helped ;-)), but I can't remember the versions.
Which Dream version do you have?
73s, Heinrich

Reason: No reason

CaptainNemo
Posts: 114
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 1:22 pm
Location: Genoa - Italy

Re: SDRPlay with SDRuno. Dream not decoding DRM!

Postby CaptainNemo » Wed Sep 28, 2016 10:02 am

surfking61 wrote:... Very frustrating.
I am new to this whole SDR thing and most of the decoding programs are a little
complicated so ...


I suppose all the things you mention (dream, virtual audio cable ...) are ok...
... you do not mention the bandwith you are feeding to dream sw.
It should be 10k at least.
you can check it in sdruno and in the evaluation panel in dream...

do not be frustrated... ;)

nemo

Reason: No reason

surfking61
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2016 11:44 pm

Re: SDRPlay with SDRuno. Dream not decoding DRM!

Postby surfking61 » Wed Sep 28, 2016 1:16 pm

Thanks. I will download the correct DLL and see if that helps, also check the bandwidth. Not sure on version #.
Will post what happens. Thanks again.

Reason: No reason

surfking61
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2016 11:44 pm

Re: SDRPlay with SDRuno. Dream not decoding DRM!

Postby surfking61 » Wed Sep 28, 2016 5:29 pm

Still not working. On evaluation page of dream the drm/Bandwidth is cycling from B/10 kHz to C/10 kHz.
The bottom to leds light green the rest light red. Also there is a red led lit above the close tab. My soundcard
settings are signal input VB Cable and Output is my speakers. On Uno the WWE Input device is the Cable Output
is (VB Cable Audio) also is says the ASIO driver is JRiver Media Center 19 with no other options to chose from.
Also on the WWE Input device of Uno it also lists the Microphone of the pc. I copied and pasted the libfaad2.dll
into the Dream folder and I see it's in there. It still tells me that "No Audio decoding possible on the Evluation
page of Dream. If I change the Uno output from speakers to VB Audio Cable I get no sound from my speakers
but on the Dream scanning window the level meter is showing a green line moving between -20 and -10 db's.
That is the first time it's done that but on the evaluation page it still says No audio decoding possible.
Any suggestions are greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Reason: No reason

surfking61
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2016 11:44 pm

Re: SDRPlay with SDRuno. Dream not decoding DRM!

Postby surfking61 » Wed Sep 28, 2016 6:55 pm

Update: I am receiving The Voice of Nigeria on a DRM channel but no audio.
I used both SDRuno and SdR_Console v3 to get the station. When I select the
programs output to the the VB Audio Cable Dream will decode the signal but
not the audio. If I select the speakers as output then Dreams stops decoding.
I have the speakers as output in the Dream settings but still no luck with the
audio. The signal is fantastic too. No dropout or signal loss at all. It's a
shame I can't hear it. Why would someone right a program like this to make
it so darn difficult for some to use. This is the Dream file I downloaded and
installed. dream-2.1.1-win32-svn808-df. Maybe this will help. Thanks

Reason: No reason

Tech_Support
Posts: 196
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 7:00 pm

Re: SDRPlay with SDRuno. Dream not decoding DRM!

Postby Tech_Support » Wed Sep 28, 2016 7:29 pm

Hello Surfking61,
Are all of the three 'LED' indicators in DREAM green? You will not get any audio unless they are all green. What SNR do you have on the DRM signal? Make sure you are not overdriving DREAM? If your audio slider from SDRuno is too high, you will put too high a signal into DREAM and as this is a COFDM signal, it has a significant amplitude envelope and compression will degrade the signal. The signal level indicator in the top left hand corner of the main DREAM window should be all green. If it is red at the top, try reducing the volume slider in SDRuno until the level goes all green. DRM uses multi-level modulation and depending upon what is used, you may need a greater or lesser SNR to get decoded audio. Generally speaking you will need 12-16 dB of indicated SNR in the top left hand corner of the DREAM evaluation window to get decoded audio.

Sincerely

SDRplay Tech_Support

Reason: No reason

KM4JOJ
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2016 1:34 pm

Re: SDRPlay with SDRuno. Dream not decoding DRM!

Postby KM4JOJ » Sun Oct 02, 2016 5:30 pm

DanubeBCL wrote:]Just to make sure: The dll should be called libfaad2.dll. I have it running with Dream 1.13 (for media contens like French slide shows ;-)) and Dream 2.1.


Well...this explains a lot. I tried for the other night to decode BBC on 3950 and while it looked like it had plenty of signal; I never got any audio output. Apparently the memo about the file needing to be "libfaad2.dll" never got put in the documentation; or they changed it and every website I was reading was wrong. It kept acting like it wanted to produce audio but...nothing.

I'll have to rename my file and give it a try later.

73,
Jay/KM4JOJ

Reason: No reason


Return to “SDRplay related”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests