SDR Play and Yaesu FTDX3000 panadapter

Post information or questions regarding SDRplay products here
shortwave100
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu May 12, 2016 8:37 pm

SDR Play and Yaesu FTDX3000 panadapter

Postby shortwave100 » Thu Dec 29, 2016 1:33 pm

Hello,

I have the SDR play connected to the IF out RCA socket of my 3000, and I have the SDRPlay tuned to 9.000 Mhz through SDR Uno.

I'm getting panadapter functionality through my PC screen, but a couple of oddities

1) If I am listening to LSB (for example on 40m) on the 3000 I have to select USB in SDR Uno in order to hear the signals

2) If I rotate the 3000'a tuning knob clockwise the panadapter in SDR Uno moves in the opposite direction to what you would expect, and the opposite direction to the waterfall on ther 3000.

I'm sure my fault is obvious to somebody...but it's not to me !

Can anybody help ?

Thanks,

Reason: No reason

G3TXL
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2016 2:44 pm

Re: SDR Play and Yaesu FTDX3000 panadapter

Postby G3TXL » Thu Dec 29, 2016 4:20 pm

I don't know if this is how one is supposed to do it, but SDR MAIN>OPT>Swap I&Q channels did it for me on my FT-5000MP!
Last edited by G3TXL on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

shortwave100
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu May 12, 2016 8:37 pm

Re: SDR Play and Yaesu FTDX3000 panadapter

Postby shortwave100 » Thu Dec 29, 2016 5:20 pm

That did it thanks.

Out of interest...do you have to tune SDR Uno to 9001.5 rather than 9000 ?

Thanks

Reason: No reason

G3TXL
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2016 2:44 pm

Re: SDR Play and Yaesu FTDX3000 panadapter

Postby G3TXL » Thu Dec 29, 2016 6:10 pm

Well, I got fed up with SDRuno as I kept having to 'tranlate' the IF frequency to the actual 'dial' frequency to see where I was! (See my post in the Newbie section).
However, I think you have two choices (remember I don't really know what I'm talking about!) you can go SDR Main>SETT.>OFFSET and put in +1500 and -1500Hz into OFFS1 and OFFS2 respectively (or it might be the other way around) and use one or the other as your 'default' sideband selection, or leave the FT-3000 on AM (and so use the 'NONE' in OFFSET) and then select modes in SDRuno as you please.
OTOH perhaps I've misunderstood your question... :roll:
Last edited by G3TXL on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

shortwave100
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu May 12, 2016 8:37 pm

Re: SDR Play and Yaesu FTDX3000 panadapter

Postby shortwave100 » Thu Dec 29, 2016 10:13 pm

No, you understood and answered my question, thanks.

But I too have given up already trying to understand what frequency SDR Uno / the radio is on.

Did you find a better solution ? if so can you advise me cable and software-wise ?

Cheers

Reason: No reason

shortwave100
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu May 12, 2016 8:37 pm

Re: SDR Play and Yaesu FTDX3000 panadapter

Postby shortwave100 » Fri Dec 30, 2016 1:27 pm

Ah...have found my own solution now. OmniRig.

Now have 3000 hooked to SRD Uno with 3000 frequency synced with and controllable by SDR Uno.

Reason: No reason

G3TXL
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2016 2:44 pm

Re: SDR Play and Yaesu FTDX3000 panadapter

Postby G3TXL » Sat Dec 31, 2016 10:49 am

I forgot to ask if you are using the RSP1 or the RSP2?
Last edited by G3TXL on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

shortwave100
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu May 12, 2016 8:37 pm

Re: SDR Play and Yaesu FTDX3000 panadapter

Postby shortwave100 » Sat Dec 31, 2016 4:04 pm

RSP2

Reason: No reason

G3TXL
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2016 2:44 pm

Re: SDR Play and Yaesu FTDX3000 panadapter

Postby G3TXL » Sat Dec 31, 2016 6:39 pm


Now have 3000 hooked to SRD Uno with 3000 frequency synced with and controllable by SDR Uno.

...and you're feeding the 9MHz IF o/p from your FTdx3000 straight into your RSP2?
Last edited by G3TXL on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

shortwave100
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu May 12, 2016 8:37 pm

Re: SDR Play and Yaesu FTDX3000 panadapter

Postby shortwave100 » Sun Jan 01, 2017 12:03 pm

No I'm using ...

3000 RX out to RSP2 (RCA to SMA cable)
RSP2 to PC (USB A to USB B)
3000 to PC (USB A to USB B)
Antenna to 3000

And SDR Uno

Reason: No reason


Return to “SDRplay related”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests