Frequency coverage

Post information or questions regarding SDRplay products here
sdrplay
Posts: 582
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 7:58 am

Frequency coverage

Postby sdrplay » Wed Jan 07, 2015 11:34 am

Can the units be modified to cover the frequency band at 400MHz?

sdrplay
Posts: 582
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 7:58 am

Re: Frequency coverage

Postby sdrplay » Wed Jan 07, 2015 12:12 pm

Just to be clear: as for FCD Pro+ the radio astronomy band at 0.4 GHz is excluded. I assume that is the band that is being addressesd here. Most unfortunate. It is 406.1 - 410.0 MHz and is a PRIMARY allocation, as also MOBILE and FIXED services. It is not an amateur band as defined by ITU-R Radio Regs - and Ofcom, of course.\nI''d also agree with comments on another thread re. choice of connector for higher freq. use; F type is poor IMHO.

sdrplay
Posts: 582
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 7:58 am

Re: Frequency coverage

Postby sdrplay » Wed Jan 07, 2015 12:36 pm

Alas no. \n\nIn practice there will be some coverage close to 400MHz but exactly what will depend on the specific chip in your device. This specification comes from the VCO coverage over process variation and reflects the worst case coverage scenario, so our guaranteed range is derived from this. More typically what you might expect are;\n\nGap on Slow devices -> 381MHz – 396MHz\nGap on Nominal Devices -> 385MHz – 412MHz\nGap on Fast Devices -> 389MHz – 430MHz\n\nThere will of course be a whole range of coverage gaps in between but on the whole you can expect Nominal performance but you might be unlucky (or lucky!) and get something that sits nearer one of the process extremes.\n

sdrplay
Posts: 582
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 7:58 am

Re: Frequency coverage

Postby sdrplay » Wed Jan 07, 2015 12:36 pm

Hi JMG.\n\nJon is right in his comments above, the units cannot be modified to cover the 400MHz frequency band as it is a function of the tuner VCO coverage that is the limiting factor. As you can see from the comment above to get coverage at 400MHz you would need a slow device. I have identified some units that will lock down to 400MHz if you are interested. You can drop an email to support@sdrplay.com if you want to discuss further.

MikeR
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2015 7:13 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Frequency coverage

Postby MikeR » Thu Jul 09, 2015 4:23 pm

Ive not checked 400 MHz however I found tuning the SDRPlay to 291 Mhz with the gain at 33 will show Tetra stations aliasing down from 394ish MHz.
Quite easy to see if you turn up in frequency the real signals move down or off to the left as expected, yet the aliased images go right. Not ideal but handy all the same.

-Mike.
Last edited by MikeR on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason


Return to “SDRplay related”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests