Recording Audio

Post information or questions regarding SDRplay products here
Cheemag
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2017 7:15 pm

Recording Audio

Postby Cheemag » Mon Apr 03, 2017 6:07 pm

I was thinking of buying the SDRplay2, but I'm confused about recording.

I need to be able to record several frequencies without having to listen to any
one of them, often two different frequencies at the same time.

I understand that recording in .WAV isn't possible, but is to come in the future.

There is mention of recording the IQ outputs, but I'm not quite sure how this is
used and whether simultanious recordings can be made.

It would also be useful to be able to have the software bring up a frequency and
record over a specific time period. HDSDR can do this, but it's totally unreliable
as very often it doesn't tune the receiver when doing so.

Would SDRuno meet any of these requirements?

Regards,

Cheemag
Last edited by Cheemag on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

Tech_Support
Posts: 174
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 7:00 pm

Re: Recording Audio

Postby Tech_Support » Tue Apr 04, 2017 5:58 am

Hello Cheemag,
SDRuno records all signals within the bandwidth of the spectrum that is being monitored. So for example, whatever bandwidth you are monitoring (as determined by your sample and decimation rates, but up 10 10 MHz), anything within this segment of spectrum will be recorded. This is what is meant by recording in I/Q format. SDRuno does record in a .WAV format, but the signal scrambled so that it will only play back in SDRuno. We plan a new release in the future that will give the user facility to record signals without scrambling should they so wish.

Sincerely

SDRplay Tech_Support

Reason: No reason

Cheemag
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2017 7:15 pm

Re: Recording Audio

Postby Cheemag » Tue Apr 04, 2017 12:41 pm

GM OM,

So in order to record two stations I'd have to record the whole 10 MHz over the
time period when the stations were active, then trawl through the recorded IQ
to find what I wanted. Disc space !!

Otherwise I'd be restricted to tuning one station and recording it with Total Recorder,
RecAll Pro or Audacity. I have the a Pro version of a well-known VAC system but I don't
know if that would help with regards to starting and stopping the recording.

I still think I'll buy the SDRplay in hope of achieving a more flexible recording system
later and perhaps HDSDR could be persuaded to work properly with SDRplay as it doesn't
with the CCW SDR4+. I'll ask in another board about HDSDR and SDRplay.

73, Jim
Last edited by Cheemag on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

Tech_Support
Posts: 174
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 7:00 pm

Re: Recording Audio

Postby Tech_Support » Tue Apr 04, 2017 4:53 pm

Hello Jim,
You don't have to record 10 MHz of bandwidth. That is the maximum that you can record at any one time. The minimum is 250 kHz.

We do provide full support for HDSDR via our ExtIO plugin

Best regards

SDRplay Tech_Support

Reason: No reason


Return to “SDRplay related”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest