RSP2 with hardware frequency tuning wheel

Post information or questions regarding SDRplay products here
hb3ydh

RSP2 with hardware frequency tuning wheel

Post by hb3ydh » Mon Sep 04, 2017 6:49 am

I am a newbie with RSP2Pro and like it eventhough I have not yet found how to open the 3 or 4 windows at once. That would be nice.

Beeing not a fan of frequency tuning with a mouse, I am wondering if it would be possible to use with SDRUno a TuningWheel from Griffin Technology (https://griffintechnology.com/us/produc ... -keyboards) which they build and sell as <Powermate USB>. I.e. Bonito sells it for its Radiojet 1305P for which he just names the Griffith driver with its hardware. Griffith does not supply any more driver other than for MAC, but the old driver for Win7 should be ok.

Thanks for any feedback.

Jean-Claude, HB3YDH
Last edited by hb3ydh on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

someYguy

Re: RSP2 with hardware frequency tuning wheel

Post by someYguy » Mon Sep 04, 2017 5:56 pm

Yes, it is possible to use a Griffen Power Mate with the RSP. I've successfully done it several times.

BUT

In order for it to really work well - i.e. little to no jerkiness, smooth tuning with no pops etc., you must use HDSDR as your SDR program because as far as I know it is currently the only program available to us which properly implements the necessary keyboard shortcuts for use with the Griffen Powermate. SDRUno and SDRSharp are not really set up for it and will be popping & the spectrum displays on both programs become jerky when tuning with the hardware knob. Not sure about the SDR Console software because I haven't tried it with a hardware knob.

Using HDSDR, it is easy to set up with most any hardware knob which allows the knob to emulate keyboard shortcuts. What I did was to simply configure the Griffen Powermate via its own software to emulate the up & dn arrow keys during rotation which then tunes the radio :).