Newbie questions

Post information or questions regarding SDRplay products here
wd4elg-2
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2015 12:15 am

Newbie questions

Postby wd4elg-2 » Thu Dec 24, 2015 12:20 am

SDR Play arrived today. Here is my status:

SDR Console works with default install.
SDR# does not see SDR Play unit. SDR# worked perfectly with RTL dongle monitoring ADS-B on this computer.
HDSDR does not see SDR Play unit. Suggestions?
I see a ton of birdies, sounds like a strong AM station. How can I eliminate those signals?

Thanks, Mark WD4ELG
Last edited by wd4elg-2 on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

wd4elg-2
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2015 12:15 am

Re: Newbie questions

Postby wd4elg-2 » Thu Dec 24, 2015 4:31 am

OK, I figured it out pretty quick. This message board is terrific!

Option 1 - SDR#, need 1361 or earlier plus a plug in.
Option 2 - HDSDR, downloaded the plug-in, works fine except for the numerous AM images.
Software option 3 - SDR Console. I don't see the birdies with SDR Console, so I will probably stick with it.

But I have the dreaded "center spike" in SDR Console. I am using the latest API (v1.6) and the latest EXTIO plug-in (v 3.5), which should have eliminated that center spike in SDR Console.

I cannot locate where to change the IF from 0 to some other frequency in SDR Console to try the alternate method to eliminate the center spike.
Last edited by wd4elg-2 on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

sdrplay
Posts: 603
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 7:58 am

Re: Newbie questions

Postby sdrplay » Thu Dec 24, 2015 6:54 am

Hi Mark,

Have you copied the API into the SDR-Console installation? SDR-Console comes with it's own copy of the API so unless you copy in the new one, it won't see it.

Stop SDR-Console

Copy C:\Program Files\MiricsSDR\API\x64\mir_sdr_api.dll to C:\Program Files\SDR-RADIO-PRO.com\mir_sdr_api.dll

Then restart SDR-Console

Best regards,

SDRplay Support
Last edited by sdrplay on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

wd4elg-2
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2015 12:15 am

Re: Newbie questions

Postby wd4elg-2 » Thu Dec 24, 2015 7:10 pm

I copied the API into the SDR-Console installation. No change regarding the center line carrier in SDR Console.

Mark Lunday, WD4ELG
Last edited by wd4elg-2 on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

NN4F
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 1:54 pm
Location: Ridgeville, SC
Contact:

Re: Newbie questions

Postby NN4F » Fri Dec 25, 2015 2:11 am

Simon is still working on the sdrplay, and he has only just got the new API, but in my testing, if you can, run the Gain Reduction at 50-55 and up ie lower number, and decrease the visual gain ie -10 etc if thew GR is too high, I normally run my GR at 65-80 but still have the spike at the moment, if I run at 50-55 the spike will go away....

Paul - NN4F
Last edited by NN4F on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason
--
Paul Jones - NN4F, Charleston SC
http://www.facebook.com/groups/SDRPlay

DaveB
Posts: 130
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2015 6:04 pm

Re: Newbie questions

Postby DaveB » Fri Dec 25, 2015 1:30 pm

DC compensation is automatic in SDR Console but takes time to fully compensate.

For example on the FM broadcast band. Load up SDR Console - tune to say 87.0 (outside the band) and set it as the centre frequency. Start SDR console and you will see a huge DC spike in the centre. Watch and wait - over a period the DC spike will drop away and end up completely in the noise. The last few dB reduction comes a bit more slowly but overall it took around 40 seconds. The setting holds well for the whole of the FM band.

I've checked on the MW band on a clear channel (but with much higher noise levels) and the DC compensation can be seen to work there. Just checking through various points in the HF spectrum it looks like the optimum setting for DC compensation doesn't stay the same - it's a lot better than the initial start up spike - but then over a 20-30 seconds the residual spike reduces down to the noise. Biut unless you are hopping all over the spectrum you won't notice any fine adjustmnts being carried out automatically.

Hope that helps you to check things out.

The new API works really well - but just one general observation. In HDSDR you have to go into the option and reset the manual I/Q adjustment back to zero by pressing the reset button - otherwise the manually applied offsets mess up the auto-compensation of the API.

David
Last edited by DaveB on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

jon
Posts: 302
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 10:48 am

Re: Newbie questions

Postby jon » Fri Dec 25, 2015 2:50 pm

David, you and Paul are the best. Thank you for your relentless efforts in helping make this thing good! Happy Christmas! Jon
Last edited by jon on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason


Return to “SDRplay related”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], DF1KZ and 2 guests