Two Receivers

Post information or questions regarding SDRplay products here
dtaviation
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2016 1:59 am

Two Receivers

Postby dtaviation » Fri Aug 26, 2016 3:53 am

I have two SDRplays, but I do not see a method in the API for addressing more than one unit. Is this possible?

Thanks
Last edited by dtaviation on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

Misterj
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2016 6:40 pm

Re: Two Receivers

Postby Misterj » Fri Aug 26, 2016 6:49 pm

dtaviation, you don't say what software you are using - assume SDRuno. Please look at this for an obvious solution. I have not tried it, but I suspect SDR-Radio will support multiple radios. Enjoy, John.

Question for Moderator - How many of my posts must be vetted before they are posted?
Last edited by Misterj on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

dtaviation
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2016 1:59 am

Re: Two Receivers

Postby dtaviation » Fri Aug 26, 2016 9:59 pm

I'm writing software using the API. RTL SDR dongles have an index in order to select which of multiple dongles are plugged in. I do not find such a thing in the SDRplay API.
Last edited by dtaviation on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

Misterj
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2016 6:40 pm

Re: Two Receivers

Postby Misterj » Sat Aug 27, 2016 2:59 pm

dtaviation, I opened SDR Console (SDR-Radio) then Select Radio - Definitions and see that AirSpy has a serial number but my SDRPlay does not. I don't know what happens if I plug in two SDRPlay radios but you might try it. It looks like the developers need to answer your questions. Have you tried the Contact page? Sorry I could not help. Enjoy, John.
Last edited by Misterj on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

F1BJB
Posts: 108
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 4:24 pm
Location: Beauvais France

Re: Two Receivers

Postby F1BJB » Mon Aug 29, 2016 8:57 am

Hi
That is a good question.
With 2 identical RTLSDR dongles I had problems too.
But sometimes it is simpler to use 2 or more devices instead of a complex mixing/switching antenna setup.
As a bonus you can run them at the same time .
Last edited by F1BJB on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

Misterj
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2016 6:40 pm

Re: Two Receivers

Postby Misterj » Tue Sep 06, 2016 9:14 pm

dtaviation, while I was doing some testing on VirtualBox (a virtual machine application), I see this in their USB manager when my SDRPlay is plugged.
Image
Maybe there is some useful information here.
Enjoy, John.
Last edited by Misterj on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

n2ic
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat May 28, 2016 7:26 pm

Re: Two Receivers

Postby n2ic » Tue Sep 13, 2016 5:05 pm

I also would like to see an answer to this question from the SDRPlay development team.
Last edited by n2ic on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

n2ic
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat May 28, 2016 7:26 pm

Re: Two Receivers

Postby n2ic » Tue Sep 13, 2016 5:08 pm

I also have a need for support of 2 receivers. What say, SDRPlay development team ?

Steve
Last edited by n2ic on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

sdrplay
Posts: 582
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 7:58 am

Re: Two Receivers

Postby sdrplay » Wed Sep 14, 2016 12:41 am

Multiple RSP devices work (I regularly test 3 at the same time just fine on Windows) - you access them in the order that they are connected to the bus. Just be careful of bandwidth and make sure you don't connect more than 2 on a given USB hub. You can use something like USBView to make sure.

Best regards,

SDRplay Support
Last edited by sdrplay on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

Misterj
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2016 6:40 pm

Re: Two Receivers

Postby Misterj » Wed Sep 14, 2016 3:21 pm

With some research, I found that the RSP has firmware (MSI2500). It is loaded by the driver at connect time. I have also seen articles describing how to change the serial number of the RTL dongle so they can be distinguished in SW. I would think if the SDRPlay team could give the user access to the firmware (update) there might be a path for a similar process. Enjoy, John.
Last edited by Misterj on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason


Return to “SDRplay related”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests