Random wire questions

Useful information regarding antennas for SDR products.
DGW_UK

Random wire questions

Post by DGW_UK » Mon May 01, 2017 11:16 am

Hi All,

I'm new to SDRPlay and new(ish) to SDR in general. I have a 25 foot long or so piece of speaker wire connected to the P terminal running out of an upstairs window to the top of a wooden swing seat. The GND and N are attached to a hot water radiator pipe in the same upstairs room (I'm assuming this set up is OK?).

1) does the random wire need to be straight - ie would it be better to add more wire even if this needs to run in a semi-circle or U shape around the garden?

2) there is another post about proximity to transmitting antennas. I have a small wireless weather station and alarm that probably work on around 400MHz and 800MHz - will this cause a problem? how far away should I keep the random wire from those?

cheers, d.
Last edited by DGW_UK on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

g1hbe

Re: Random wire questions

Post by g1hbe » Tue May 02, 2017 8:18 am

Hi d. That random wire is perfectly good, but you may find it picks up lots of noise from your house and those of your neighbours. It's not a good idea to bring a receiving antenna directly into your home for this reason. Much better to use a length of co-ax from the Hiz port to a point in the garden furthest away from the house where there is minimum noise. As long as the coax is not too long you can probably do this without using baluns or transformers.
You weather station should not be a problem as it uses tiny amounts of power.
Andy.

Andy

DGW_UK

Post by DGW_UK » Tue May 02, 2017 9:33 pm

Hi Andy, thanks. The coax sounds like a good idea, I'm assuming the random wire goes to the centre core which goes to P, would the coax shielding go to N and GND?
Last edited by DGW_UK on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.

g1hbe

Post by g1hbe » Wed May 03, 2017 8:23 am