LNA/Portable antenna on the RSP2

Useful information regarding antennas for SDR products.
N0NHP

LNA/Portable antenna on the RSP2

Post by N0NHP » Fri Jun 09, 2017 8:14 pm

I thought I would post on an experiment I did in the last couple of months.
With the availability of power on the RSP2 I started looking at portable antennas and LNA modules.
One note, I am a technician (not class of license, just what I did for a living for too many years) not an engineer so the design can and should be improved by those with more knowledge than I.
I started with the basis of the Apollo antenna I found online https://apollo.open-resource.org/missio ... na-for-sdr.
The idea being to use what I had available and inexpensively obtainable.
For the tube, my garden shed had 2inch PVC pipe already on the rack. This is 2" inner diameter around 55mm. Good enough.
I obtained end caps at my local hardware store.
Copper foil for the antenna, many of the commenters on the Apollo site indicated they were having problems finding a source and the ones they found were pretty expensive. A search on the internet resulted in an Ebay seller: http://www.ebay.com/itm/152088504474?_t ... EBIDX%3AIT . Much thinner but also very inexpensive. Being in kind of a hurry and not feeling like re-engineering the foil template for the smaller diameter tube, I just used the Apollo template and curled it a bit tighter. I left the backing paper on the tape for insulation between layers.
Now to the magic :lol:
Low noise amplifier modules. I had played with some during my career but had no idea there were so many. Much searching and looking at spec sheets finally brought up ---- Ebay again. "What happens when I type Low Noise Amplifier in the box?"