Antenna's

Useful information regarding antennas for SDR products.
Fastpaced
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2017 9:59 pm

Antenna's

Postby Fastpaced » Sun Oct 01, 2017 10:18 pm

Hi

Could someone offer some advice on my chosen antenna's, firstly I must mention I've only ordered my RSP2pro yesterday but my intention is to use my existing discone on one input and an old HF Datong antenna on the other input ( old but still works great). My worry is that the Datong has a 12volt supply voltage to the coax to drive the preamp, would this harm the RSP2pro. If so how could I isolate the 12volt supply from the RSP2pro ?

Thanks
Last edited by Fastpaced on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

DF1KZ
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 1:37 pm

Re: Antenna's

Postby DF1KZ » Mon Oct 02, 2017 4:29 pm

Hello,

I use the RSP2pro with a Diskone on Port B and an active antenna (DX10) on Port HiZ and Port A. For HiZ I use a homebrew transformer 6:26 wdg on a BN73-202 binocular core. Port A of the RSP2pro and the input of the transformer are connected to the DX10 (behind the Bias-T) by a simple resistive splitter (homemade, 4 Ports, 10dB attenuation port/port). Additionally there is a 10dB attenuator in front of Port A.
The DX10 is fed by a Bias-T which separates the HF from the DC. The Bias-T isolates the 12V DC by 470nF/47pF capacitor in parallel. An inductor isolates the HF.
This works on HiZ from 10kHz to 30MHZ, on Port A from 100kHz ton 50MHz.

Wolfgang

Reason: No reason
SDRplay (RSP1, RSP1A, RSP2 pro) with:
RFsystems DX-10 (14kHz to 50MHz), ICOM Discone AH8000 (10MHz to 2GHz)
12m above ground

Fastpaced
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2017 9:59 pm

Re: Antenna's

Postby Fastpaced » Tue Oct 03, 2017 11:51 pm

Thank you DF1KZ that's very informative and given me plenty think about.
Last edited by Fastpaced on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

User avatar
dave524
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2017 9:59 pm

Re: Antenna's

Postby dave524 » Fri Oct 06, 2017 3:36 pm

OK, I have an old Datong AD370 that I haven't used in years . I'd like to know why there would be any more concern hooking it up to my RSP pro2 than say my Icom R71A, I would assume that the 12 volts from the power supply is not present on the receiver end of the coax, so why the problem ?
Last edited by dave524 on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

g1hbe
Posts: 241
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 3:28 pm
Location: Cheshire

Re: Antenna's

Postby g1hbe » Fri Oct 06, 2017 6:04 pm

There's no DC present on the output of the interface boxes that come with active antennas. There's a DC blocking capacitor that stops any voltage appearing there.

Reason: No reason
Andy


Return to “SDR Antennas”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests