Mac users - CubicSDR

Add useful snippets of code or links to entire SDR projects.
dc1rdb
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2015 5:57 am

Mac users - CubicSDR

Postby dc1rdb » Tue Oct 20, 2015 4:45 pm

Mac users - CubicSDR w/ SDRplay RSP flow now through installers (El Capitan 10.11+) at http://www.sdrplay.com/mac.html - Linux flow to follow.

Best regards,

SDRplay Support


CubicSDR and the required SoapySDR and SoapySDRPlay drivers/modules have been verified to work with Mac OS 10.9+
Mac page should be updated accordingly.
Last edited by dc1rdb on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

Sasan
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2015 1:15 am

Re: Mac users - CubicSDR

Postby Sasan » Tue Oct 20, 2015 6:12 pm

Same result here. Tested on OS X 10.11 with CubicSDR (downloaded from sdrplay.com)
Last edited by Sasan on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

sdrplay
Posts: 604
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 7:58 am

Re: Mac users - CubicSDR

Postby sdrplay » Tue Oct 20, 2015 9:29 pm

Really? That's odd - our testers tried to install CubicSDR from the dmg hosted on our website on to Yosemite and a message said that it could not be run because it was the wrong OS version - you don't see that problem?

Please confirm and I'll update the page.

Thanks and best regards,

SDRplay Support
Last edited by sdrplay on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

Sasan
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2015 1:15 am

Re: Mac users - CubicSDR

Postby Sasan » Wed Oct 21, 2015 6:36 am

sdrplay wrote:Really? That's odd - our testers tried to install CubicSDR from the dmg hosted on our website on to Yosemite and a message said that it could not be run because it was the wrong OS version - you don't see that problem?

Please confirm and I'll update the page.

Thanks and best regards,

SDRplay Support



Yes. I have CubicSDR v0.1.4-beta downloaded from official CubicSDR site, which just works with my RTL dongle, but not with SDRPlay.
Then I installed CubicSDR 0.1.11-alpha from your site which works with SDRPlay but sometimes crashes on open (I have to open it multiple times, so it opens without problems)
Here's a screenshot showing CubicSDR tuned to a local FM station.

http://imgur.com/TK9f2d5
Last edited by Sasan on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

dc1rdb
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2015 5:57 am

Re: Mac users - CubicSDR

Postby dc1rdb » Wed Oct 21, 2015 6:45 am

To reconfirm:
- CubicSDR (all versions so far)
- SDRPlay API (libmirsdrapi-rsp.so)
- SoapySDR and SoapySDRPlay
are working flawlessly on my late 2009 Macbook running 10.9.5 Mavericks.

Screenshot here: https://cloud.githubusercontent.com/ass ... 329574.png
Last edited by dc1rdb on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

dc1rdb
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2015 5:57 am

Re: Mac users - CubicSDR

Postby dc1rdb » Wed Oct 21, 2015 8:44 am

FYI: Your hosted version of CubicSDR http://sdrplay.com/software/CubicSDR-0.1.11-Darwin.dmg is different to the original version https://github.com/cjcliffe/CubicSDR/releases/download/v0.1.11/CubicSDR-0.1.11-Darwin.dmg
Maybe that is the reason for the experienced problems.

I just followed the installation instructions on https://github.com/cjcliffe/CubicSDR/releases/tag/v0.1.11 which resulted in a perfectly working configuration on Mac OS 10.9.5 Mavericks.

dc1rdb
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2015 5:57 am

Re: Mac users - CubicSDR

Postby dc1rdb » Wed Oct 21, 2015 12:11 pm

Ok, some additional observations: I just wiped my entire /usr/local/ folder and reinstalled SDRplay_RSP_API_Installer_1.9.2.pkg together with CubicSDR hosted at SDRPLay.com (http://www.sdrplay.com/software/CubicSDR-0.1.11-Darwin.dmg).
The resulting combination works fine on Mac OS 10.9.5.
There seems to be an incompatibility between SDRplay_RSP_API_Installer_1.9.2 and the "original" CubicSDR hosted at github (https://github.com/cjcliffe/CubicSDR/releases/download/v0.1.11/CubicSDR-0.1.11-Darwin.dmg).
Hope this helps clarifying the situation.

thereisnocat
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2015 1:18 am

Re: Mac users - CubicSDR

Postby thereisnocat » Mon Oct 26, 2015 1:37 am

CubicSDR works nicely on my Macbook Pro, and supports a wider range of bandwidths than other clients. I don't see any way to record the IQ stream, though. Am I missing something? If not, are there any Mac clients that work with SDRplay that do record the IQ stream? I've been using Studio1 to record on a Microsoft Surface Pro, but it doesn't seem to have the ability to fully record 8 MHz of bandwidth; I get a lot of dropouts using that combination, which is why I'm looking to see if there's something on the Mac. I've tried gqrx, but while it says it supports the SDRplay, all I get from it is a harsh noise.
Last edited by thereisnocat on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

dc1rdb
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2015 5:57 am

Re: Mac users - CubicSDR

Postby dc1rdb » Mon Oct 26, 2015 8:53 am

CubicSDR works nicely on my Macbook Pro, and supports a wider range of bandwidths than other clients. I don't see any way to record the IQ stream, though.


I/Q recording and playback is a planned feature for CubicSDR, see https://github.com/cjcliffe/CubicSDR/bl ... /README.md
Since CubicSDR is very actively developed with new functions coming almost daily, I'm pretty confident that we will see this feature soon.
Last edited by dc1rdb on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

thereisnocat
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2015 1:18 am

Re: Mac users - CubicSDR

Postby thereisnocat » Mon Oct 26, 2015 8:47 pm

Thanks for pointing me toward that. Looks promising. In the meantime, I've gotten the radio to work with Studio1 and HDSDR on my Macbook under Windows 7 in VMware Fusion.
Last edited by thereisnocat on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason


Return to “Code Corner”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest