SDRPlay and DRM

General discussions
morgan2j
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2016 11:40 am

SDRPlay and DRM

Postby morgan2j » Wed May 25, 2016 2:33 pm

Hello,

I'm trying to set everything up for DRM, but I've not been successful.

Here's what I have so far:

SDRPlay
CubicSDR
Dream (DRM Software)
Soundflower

I find a DRM signal and I use USB - after playing with lots of audio options I finally got the Dream software to receive the audio.
However, it never does sync up and I'm back to square one. I'm not sure of the proper bandwidth, but I've tried narrow and wide with no results.

Has anyone tried to receive DRM, and if so do you have any suggestions that might help me get this working.

Thanks, Jim
Last edited by morgan2j on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

CaptainNemo
Posts: 114
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 1:22 pm
Location: Genoa - Italy

Re: SDRPlay and DRM

Postby CaptainNemo » Sat May 28, 2016 5:52 pm

Hi morgan2j.

I had some DRM experience with: sdrplay-->sdr#-->vb-cable-->DREAM (last in my log is 16/01/2016, drm is not one of my favourite listening).
If I remember well, I set bandwith to 11k or more (12k), mode USB, tune the VFO in order to get all the signal in my bw.
For example "All India Radio GOS" 7550khz, the signal spans from 7545 to 7555 more or less,
so I tune 7544-7545 with a bw 11k. (Also DReaM must be configured for USB, that should be the default...
open the evaluation dialog, this may help to set up properly tuning and bandwidth...)

(by the way recently I tried with sdr-radio v3 instead of sdr# with no success, maybe the signal was to "low")

Try again and Good luck!

Gio
Last edited by CaptainNemo on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

F1BJB
Posts: 108
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 4:24 pm
Location: Beauvais France

Re: SDRPlay and DRM

Postby F1BJB » Sat May 28, 2016 8:43 pm

Sorry it seems you are on a Mac and I'm not at all experienced with that.
A few tips anyway:
For DRM to work you need at least a 10 KHz wide audio signal this can be hard to obtain in SSB depending of the software used
One good reason for Dream not working is an inverted signal so try LSB too .
On a PC the simplest way to receive DRM with an SDRplay or a RTL device is Sodira with a suited extio.dll
http://www.dsp4swls.de/sodira/sodiraeng.html
Last edited by F1BJB on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

CaptainNemo
Posts: 114
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 1:22 pm
Location: Genoa - Italy

Re: SDRPlay and DRM

Postby CaptainNemo » Tue Jul 05, 2016 6:43 pm

CaptainNemo wrote:(by the way recently I tried with sdr-radio v3 instead of sdr# with no success, maybe the signal was to "low")

"Update"
Finally I succeed with sdr-radio v3. I understood my mistake...
One can't receive drm in USB mode since this mode is limited to 3k bw.
You need to use "Wide-U" mode: here you can use wider bw (up to 24k)

Bye
Last edited by CaptainNemo on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

F1BJB
Posts: 108
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 4:24 pm
Location: Beauvais France

Re: SDRPlay and DRM

Postby F1BJB » Wed Aug 17, 2016 8:02 pm

There is one thing I forgot to tell when using Dream to decode DRM.
It may be useful to disable any kind of AGC on the software driving the SDRplay
Dream does take care of that in a way more suited to DRM signals.
Actually I'm using SDRsharper feeding Dream via VB cable :
http://vb-audio.pagesperso-orange.fr/Cable/index.htm
All that under Windows 10 64 bits on that small thing:
http://www.gearbest.com/tv-box-mini-pc/pp_367430.html
It works very well.
I just had to improve the cooling of the CPU as it is enough for video decoding by GPU but
not sufficient for CPU intensive activities like SDR.
Adding the missing RFI bifilar coil on the supplied 5V 3A power supply was useful too :)
IMHO Intel based computers are more suited to SDR than any other kind of PI boards.
When I minimize the SDRsharper window CPU usage drops from 60% to 50%
Changing the FFT resolution from 8192 to 262144 rises the CPU usage to 90%
Last edited by F1BJB on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

XE2KAFJesus
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2017 2:31 pm

Re: SDRPlay and DRM

Postby XE2KAFJesus » Tue Oct 03, 2017 2:49 pm

Hello everyone, I'm a beginner in decoding DRM with Dream software.
I have downloaded it but it does not work correctly and when I detect a station (in 7.214.910 Mhz) it tells me that I do not have "codec available" I've been trying to search a lot about this program can run correct but every time I find it more complicated because according to what I read I need to make some compilations and modifications into the files in the program: Please see the link http://www.on6zq.be/w/index.php/PowerSD ... ioMondiale
and see the place of
Digital Radio Mondiale:
"•Instructions for building the AAC decoder ◦Download the FAAD2 sources from Audiocoding.com
◦Build libfaad2.dll with the DRM options and rename it to faad_drm.dll, then copy faad_drm.dll to the folder where you are running dream."

Anyone know anything about this?. Could it be easier? (even so I downloaded the FAAD2)
I'm using Windows 10, SDRplay 1, SDRuno with VB cable. I detect but can not decode anything
Thank you in advance of Jesus
xe2kaf
Last edited by XE2KAFJesus on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason


Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests