SDRuno - Rig Syncronization

Discussions about everything to do with SDRuno
User avatar
Harry
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 9:47 pm

SDRuno - Rig Syncronization

Postby Harry » Sun Nov 13, 2016 2:34 pm

I've been using SDRplay for quite some time as a panadapter with my TS-590S, DXLab Suite, and OmniRig. Previous SDR applications including SDR-Radio Console and HDSDR have worked quite well. My challenge with SDRuno is its synchronization with the transceiver using OmniRig is funky at best. Below is a summary of what I've encountered.

(a) Transceiver and SDRuno synchronization is fine if I click a frequency on VRX

(b) If I attempt to adjust the frequency with the transceiver's VFO, SDRuno will "snap" it back to the previous frequency on VRX.

(c) As in "b" if I attempt to tune to a new frequency using the transceiver's VFO that same will happen.

(d) If I select a frequency from a rig control application such as DXLab Suite's Commander both the transceiver and SDRuno will go to the new frequency, but then "snap" back to the precious frequency. If I select the desired frequency 3 or 4 times from the rig control application eventually it will be accepted.

On occasion these issues do not happen, but 90% of the time they do.

The OmniRig settings per the RX panel's settings menu are:

Synch VRX-> Rig checked
Synch Rig --> VRX checked
Synch RX Mode checked

Note that I do not have any of these issues with HDSDR or SDR-Radio Console v2 or V3 also using OmniRig.

Any thoughts on this?

Thanks,

Harry

Reason: No reason

DanubeBCL
Posts: 168
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: SDRuno - Rig Syncronization

Postby DanubeBCL » Sun Nov 13, 2016 5:30 pm

Hi Harry,
that's strange. I have just tried all what you said several times and I had no single glitch. Except that I tried with an Icom R-8500.
Does it make a difference when you select different polling intervals in Omnirig? I have tried all between 100 ms and 2000 ms without trouble. The delay at an interval of 2000 ms was of course intolerable for practical operation, but altogether the result was OK.
73, Heinrich

Reason: No reason

User avatar
Harry
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 9:47 pm

Re: SDRuno - Rig Syncronization

Postby Harry » Sun Nov 13, 2016 9:19 pm

Heinrich,

The OmniRig polling interval is 100ms. Again, not an issue with HDSDR or SDR-Radio Console. Further, the issue is not limited to slow polling and slow frequency change, but problems making frequency changes either from the transceiver via VFO or a rig control program. Works fine if I click a frequency on SDRuno's spectrum or waterfall.

Harry

Reason: No reason

KA4CDN
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2017 10:25 am

Re: SDRuno - Rig Syncronization

Postby KA4CDN » Tue Jun 20, 2017 10:36 am

New user with slightly different problem.

I've got a FTdx3K and using CAT control via OMNIRig. Works great but I've got one issue. If I'm clicking around on the SP1 waterfall the rig changes along fine. If I select CW, rig changes to USB CW. Good. USB, LSB - both good, rig follows.

DIGITAL however - no good. The rig doesn't change mode at all. That would be OK except after clicking SDRUno DIGITAL I can no longer put my FTdx3K into DATA-USB. Everytime I try it gets setback to USB.

The only way I can get it to work is to unclick RSYN1 (so it is white agn), put the rig into DATA-USB, click DIGITAL on Uno and then re-click RSYN1 (orange).

Anyone have a suggestion or similar problem?

Mike / KA4CDN
Last edited by KA4CDN on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

DanubeBCL
Posts: 168
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: SDRuno - Rig Syncronization

Postby DanubeBCL » Tue Jun 20, 2017 6:14 pm

KA4CDN wrote:DIGITAL however - no good. The rig doesn't change mode at all. That would be OK except after clicking SDRUno DIGITAL I can no longer put my FTdx3K into DATA-USB. Everytime I try it gets setback to USB.
Yes, seems so. SDRuno goes to LSB when DIG-L is sent from the rig and to USB when DIG-U is sent. As both rigs are synchronised SDRuno sends back these settings to Omnirig and the FT3k will jump to USB resp. LSB a few millisecs later. You cannot select DIG-U and DIG-L on the FT3k any more.
When clicking DIGITAL in SDRuno nothing seems to be sent out to Omnirig.
Similar things happen BTW e. g. when you click SAM. SDRuno sends AM, the rig goes to AM, as both are synchronized SDRuno also jumps to AM. (I tested with PowerSDR which understands FT3k commands.)
The SAM thing is comprehensible. The old Kenwood rigs do not understand SAM. But the digital matter seems to be a false implementation in SDRuno.
But SDRuno is not alone. As soon as modes are used other than the standard "every day" modes AM, CW, FM (narrow) and SSB many softwares end up in mess. One reason seems to be that several rigs do not understand the "rare" modes and the software authors use a common denominator.
73, Heinrich

Reason: No reason

DK7OB
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2016 7:14 am

Re: SDRuno - Rig Syncronization

Postby DK7OB » Wed Jun 21, 2017 11:38 am

This is a problem I encountered in my home made synchronization solution under Linux too.

If there are modes that exist only on one of the rigs, there is a mapping needed in both directions. Unfortunately this mapping is not always 1:1, but can be 1:N.

In my implementation I have some "heuristics" that tries to select the right mapping in a 1:N situation that works quite well for me (with GQRX SDR software and TS-590SG TRX), but it's probably not an universal solution.

Good thing with open source is you can attack the problem at the root by implementing the missing modes in the SDR software. That's what I do next.

Regards,
Wolf, DK7OB

Reason: No reason

sdrplay
Posts: 580
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 7:58 am

Re: SDRuno - Rig Syncronization

Postby sdrplay » Fri Jun 23, 2017 4:54 am

The DIGITAL button in SDRuno just allows for more filter bandwidths to be applied, there is no rig control with that button.

Best regards,

SDRplay Support

Reason: No reason

KA4CDN
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2017 10:25 am

Re: SDRuno - Rig Syncronization

Postby KA4CDN » Sat Oct 07, 2017 9:33 pm

SDRuno is certainly sending a mode change to my FxDX3000. The squence is:

With SDRuno synched (via OmniRig) with my rig while in say CW.
I change my rig to Data-USB
SDRuno changes the rig mode to USB.

I think what is happening SDRuno reads the rig mode change to USB when I cycle to it via the rig itself and then echos that mode back to the rig overwriting Data-USB.

So while I can put SDRuno in Digital, as soon as I try to put the rig into digital, SDRuno sees USB again and echos USB to the rig taking me out of data. The only way I can get it to work is turn off SDRuno synch (click RSYN1 turning it to white/off), put the rig into Data-USB, put SDRuno into Digital and then re-enable RSYN1.

I suggest the fix is to not echo a ode change, i.e., only send a mode change commands if it is initiated by the SDRuno user.
Last edited by KA4CDN on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason


Return to “SDRuno”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests