SDRplay 2 & existing long wire antenna?

Post information or questions regarding SDRplay products here
EastPier
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2016 11:17 am

SDRplay 2 & existing long wire antenna?

Postby EastPier » Sun Dec 04, 2016 11:41 am

I'm pretty new to this stuff so bear with me. Santa is bringing me the SDRPlay 2.

Q. 1.
I have a 25m grounded long wire antenna which comes into the house via coax and terminates with a 3.5mm plug (which I plug in to the aerial port on my receiver). In order to get the best performance from the SDRPlay 2, will I need to scrap the coax element and connect the long wire directly to the High Impedance (Z) Input? Or should I just get an SMA connector for what I have and go that way?

Q. 2.
I will be mounting a 300ohm ribbon fed inverted-V (doublet) antenna. It's for "receive only", for now. Can the 300ohm ribbon be connected directly to the P & N sockets on the high impedance input?

Many thanks in advance

Adrian
Last edited by EastPier on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

13dka
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2016 8:40 am

Re: SDRplay 2 & existing long wire antenna?

Postby 13dka » Thu Dec 08, 2016 9:39 pm


Reason: No reason

EastPier
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2016 11:17 am

Re: SDRplay 2 & existing long wire antenna?

Postby EastPier » Tue Dec 13, 2016 6:43 pm

Cheer mate, thanks a mil, Just got RSP2 today....
Last edited by EastPier on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason


Return to “SDRplay related”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests