Dump1090 doesn't see my RSP2.

Post information or questions regarding SDRplay products here
ve2cjw
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 5:00 pm

Dump1090 doesn't see my RSP2.

Postby ve2cjw » Thu Jan 12, 2017 9:58 pm

The new version of DUMP1090 is supposed to work with the RSP2 but ut doesn't work here. My RSP2 and a dongle are both plugged in and the software is supposed to see both and ask me for a choice. It sees only the dongle. If I remove the dongle, it doesn't see anything. What am I doing wrong?

Reason: No reason

Tech_Support
Posts: 196
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 7:00 pm

Re: Dump1090 doesn't see my RSP2.

Postby Tech_Support » Thu Jan 12, 2017 11:04 pm

Where did you download your version of Dump1090 from? Did you get it from our website? When you refer to it working with a 'dongle' do you mean an RTL dongle? I am a bit surprised that the fork that we created for the RSP will even work with a RTL dongle. Are you certain that you are running the correct version?

Sincerely

SDRplay Tech_Support

Reason: No reason

ve2cjw
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 5:00 pm

Re: Dump1090 doesn't see my RSP2.

Postby ve2cjw » Fri Jan 13, 2017 3:58 am

I got the software from this website, it's the latest version that works only on the B port. My dongle is the Noolec NESDR smart and it works fine with everything. I ran the install a few times and nothing changes. I'll try moving the subfolder as a backup and doing another install.

Reason: No reason

ve2cjw
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 5:00 pm

Re: Dump1090 doesn't see my RSP2.

Postby ve2cjw » Fri Jan 13, 2017 4:23 am

I found the problem, it was a subfolder error on my part. Should I run the 2mhz or the 8mhz version for Planeplotter? Thanks for your help. Now, Dump1090 is working but Plane plotter doesn't see anything. What choice should I see and take in the IO options of Plane plotter? I don't see any reference to the RSP2, only to my RTL dongle. At least I can use the dongle. ;)

Reason: No reason

sdrplay
Posts: 541
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 7:58 am

Re: Dump1090 doesn't see my RSP2.

Postby sdrplay » Fri Jan 13, 2017 7:24 am

I'm not sure on what PlanePlotter requires as all of our testing has been with VirtualServerRadar. Beast data appears on port 30005 which is what we use. There are lots of command line options to change the various data modes and what ports they appear on if you need to change it.

In our tests, the 8MHz demod version should see aircraft further away but may not be so good as the 2MHz demod version for close in aircraft. I would say you may need to experiment for your area. The 8MHz version will require more CPU.

Here's what I use for 2MHz mode...

.\sdrplay_dump1090 --dev-sdrplay --interactive --net

(without --dev-sdrplay only the RTL device is seen by dump1090)

Best regards,

SDRplay Support

Reason: No reason

ve2cjw
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 5:00 pm

Re: Dump1090 doesn't see my RSP2.

Postby ve2cjw » Fri Jan 13, 2017 1:23 pm

Thanks a lot, I'll look into it later today. It should work.

Reason: No reason

ve2cjw
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 5:00 pm

Re: Dump1090 doesn't see my RSP2.

Postby ve2cjw » Fri Jan 13, 2017 3:47 pm

Well you guys were right. Now it's working fine with Planeplotter and Virtual radar using the RSP2. Thanks a lot.

Reason: No reason

ve2cjw
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 5:00 pm

Re: Dump1090 doesn't see my RSP2.

Postby ve2cjw » Fri Jan 13, 2017 4:18 pm

Just received a fine book in the mail. It will help me a lot to figure out the workings of these software.
newbook.jpg
newbook.jpg (52.12 KiB) Viewed 1810 times

Reason: No reason

Tod Yampel
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2016 3:34 pm

Re: Dump1090 doesn't see my RSP2.

Postby Tod Yampel » Fri Jan 13, 2017 7:08 pm

Where did you get the book?
Please post a short review.

Reason: No reason

ve2cjw
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 5:00 pm

Re: Dump1090 doesn't see my RSP2.

Postby ve2cjw » Fri Jan 13, 2017 7:52 pm

Got the book used from Amazon and it's an older version. It was shipped from the UK to Canada. There is a newer version available but it's expensive. I just started reading it, will come back for a review.

https://www.amazon.ca/PlanePlotter-User ... k+anderson

Reason: No reason


Return to “SDRplay related”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests