CubicSDR working fine, Gqrx not so good.

Post your feedback here
deadite66
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 7:14 pm
Location: Norfolk, UK.

CubicSDR working fine, Gqrx not so good.

Postby deadite66 » Fri Jan 27, 2017 9:06 pm

Just got my rsp2 pro this week got it this week but having problems with gqrx.
the bandwidth seems to be all in that centre part, i don'e see anything either side of it despite it being in the FM radio band.
any ideas?

running on Antergos (Arch based) Linux.
libsdrplay 2.09.1
gr-osmosdr-nonfree-git 0.1.4.75
gqrx-git 20170118

Image
Last edited by deadite66 on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason
Airspy R2 on a Discone
SDRPlay RSP2 Pro on a choc bloc copper dipole.
Yupiteru MVT-9000 MKII telescopic ant.
Adalm Pluto (hacked for 70MHz-6GHz)

DK7OB
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2016 7:14 am

Re: CubicSDR working fine, Gqrx not so good.

Postby DK7OB » Sat Jan 28, 2017 8:31 am

I am running gqrx with the soapysdr (not the gr.osmosdr non free) driver and have seen this same behavior.

gqrx sets the default bandwidth to 0 and expects that in this case the driver calculates the optimum bandwidth for the configured sample rate (I think that's a gnu-radio convention). With soapysdr this did not work, the driver selected a very small bandwidth.

Maybe it's the same with the gr-osmosdr sdrplay driver.

Try to set the bandwidth manually to a value that matches the sample rate. This might work.

Reason: No reason

deadite66
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 7:14 pm
Location: Norfolk, UK.

Re: CubicSDR working fine, Gqrx not so good.

Postby deadite66 » Sat Jan 28, 2017 9:26 am

Thanks that did the trick with gnuradio, bandwidth setting doesn't seem to work with the soapy driver though.
gqrx seems to be too glitchy with the gnuradio driver, the noise floor keep jumping up and down still you can see the lines in my image above.

hope Cubic adds recording support soon.
Last edited by deadite66 on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason
Airspy R2 on a Discone
SDRPlay RSP2 Pro on a choc bloc copper dipole.
Yupiteru MVT-9000 MKII telescopic ant.
Adalm Pluto (hacked for 70MHz-6GHz)

deadite66
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 7:14 pm
Location: Norfolk, UK.

Re: CubicSDR working fine, Gqrx not so good.

Postby deadite66 » Sat Jan 28, 2017 4:44 pm

Got soapy working with gqrx needed to change the driver string to 'driver=sdrplay,soapy=0' now to work out how to change the antenna.
Last edited by deadite66 on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason
Airspy R2 on a Discone
SDRPlay RSP2 Pro on a choc bloc copper dipole.
Yupiteru MVT-9000 MKII telescopic ant.
Adalm Pluto (hacked for 70MHz-6GHz)

DK7OB
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2016 7:14 am

Re: CubicSDR working fine, Gqrx not so good.

Postby DK7OB » Sat Jan 28, 2017 7:12 pm

deadite66 wrote:Got soapy working with gqrx needed to change the driver string to 'driver=sdrplay,soapy=0' now to work out how to change the antenna.

Seems to be unsupported:

Code: Select all

/*******************************************************************
 * Antenna API
 ******************************************************************/

std::vector<std::string> SoapySDRPlay::listAntennas(const int direction, const size_t channel) const
{
    std::vector<std::string> antennas;
    antennas.push_back("RX");
    return antennas;
}

void SoapySDRPlay::setAntenna(const int direction, const size_t channel, const std::string &name)
{
    // TODO
}

std::string SoapySDRPlay::getAntenna(const int direction, const size_t channel) const
{
    return "RX";
}



Can you change antenna with CubicSDR?
I have the RSP1 so I can't test.

Reason: No reason

deadite66
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 7:14 pm
Location: Norfolk, UK.

Re: CubicSDR working fine, Gqrx not so good.

Postby deadite66 » Sat Jan 28, 2017 7:22 pm

DK7OB wrote:Can you change antenna with CubicSDR?
I have the RSP1 so I can't test.


yes i can.

Code: Select all

 <ant_sel>Antenna B</ant_sel>
is in the cubic config file.
wonder if it's just enough to change the string to 'driver=sdrplay,soapy=0,ant_sel=Antenna B'

EDIT: no, gqrx doesn't accept it.

Image
Last edited by deadite66 on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason
Airspy R2 on a Discone
SDRPlay RSP2 Pro on a choc bloc copper dipole.
Yupiteru MVT-9000 MKII telescopic ant.
Adalm Pluto (hacked for 70MHz-6GHz)

deadite66
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 7:14 pm
Location: Norfolk, UK.

Re: CubicSDR working fine, Gqrx not so good.

Postby deadite66 » Sun Apr 09, 2017 3:06 pm

Trying out an alternate soapysdrplay repo.
https://github.com/fcrohas/SoapySDRPlay

adds antenna A,B and HiZ :D

Image

Reason: No reason
Airspy R2 on a Discone
SDRPlay RSP2 Pro on a choc bloc copper dipole.
Yupiteru MVT-9000 MKII telescopic ant.
Adalm Pluto (hacked for 70MHz-6GHz)

deadite66
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 7:14 pm
Location: Norfolk, UK.

Re: CubicSDR working fine, Gqrx not so good.

Postby deadite66 » Sun May 14, 2017 5:09 pm

Seem to have fixed along standing problem with stability in linux today, always had read glitches and would eventually end in a segfault involving libusb.
disappointing when you have a nice haswell rig.

i bought a usb3 pcie card and fingers crossed it's ran for hours without a single glitch.

Reason: No reason
Airspy R2 on a Discone
SDRPlay RSP2 Pro on a choc bloc copper dipole.
Yupiteru MVT-9000 MKII telescopic ant.
Adalm Pluto (hacked for 70MHz-6GHz)


Return to “New Users' experiences”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest