SDRUno 1.2 issues

Discussions about everything to do with SDRuno
pgoelz
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 11:05 am

Re: SDRUno 1.2 issues

Postby pgoelz » Tue Oct 31, 2017 8:09 pm

Hello Folks,
If you are able to identify the specific sequence that leads to these problems, it would be enormously helpful. Until we can re-produce the effect, we stand no chance of finding a fix for it. Thus far, none of either our internal or external beta testing team has yet observed the problem that has been flagged with the waterfall.

I too will continue to try. But like Alan said, it has not happened again. Trust me though, it was real. It was kind of unnerving.... I used the waterfall to tune to a station and while listening suddenly realized that the waterfall was apparently displaying some other portion of the spectrum. It was still "waterfalling" and I was still listening to the same audio. But the station I was still listening to was no longer anywhere I could find on the waterfall.... without any discernible interruption in the received audio.

Paul

Reason: No reason

alantlk
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2017 1:07 pm

Re: SDRUno 1.2 issues

Postby alantlk » Wed Nov 01, 2017 9:36 am

I did some testing last night, trying to repeat what I was doing on Sunday in a more structured way, and managed to trigger a disconnection between audio and display that I reported on a support ticket because of the level of detail involved. The development team have already replied to say they have replicated my findings and will be working on a fix for the next release.

Great customer support!
Last edited by alantlk on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

Tech_Support
Posts: 225
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 7:00 pm

Re: SDRUno 1.2 issues - CW

Postby Tech_Support » Wed Nov 01, 2017 9:48 am

Hello folks,
Regarding the issues afflicting CW ZAP and CW AFC identified by Mike2459, there is a simple work around until we can implement a bug fix.

Zoom in on the SP2 display until you have a FFT size of 1024 points. CW ZAP and CW AFC will now function correctly.

Sincerely

SDRplay Tech_Support

Reason: No reason

pgoelz
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 11:05 am

Re: SDRUno 1.2 issues

Postby pgoelz » Wed Nov 01, 2017 5:04 pm

alantlk wrote:I did some testing last night, trying to repeat what I was doing on Sunday in a more structured way, and managed to trigger a disconnection between audio and display that I reported on a support ticket because of the level of detail involved. The development team have already replied to say they have replicated my findings and will be working on a fix for the next release.

Great customer support!

Out of curiosity, what triggers the waterfall disconnect? It hasn't happened to me again since I first reported it. And once triggered, have you found a way (short of restarting the program) to correct it?

And on a separate note, does anyone know if the blank button in the upper left corner of the band selection area has a function? I haven't found one yet.....

Paul

Reason: No reason

Paul
Posts: 89
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2017 9:52 am

Re: SDRUno 1.2 issues

Postby Paul » Wed Nov 01, 2017 5:42 pm

Hi Paul
On my Windows 10 machine using SDRuno 1.2 the top left button (at least on my machine) is a dot/decimal point (associated with direct entry of frequencies in Mhz (together with the "M" - top righr).
See updated use manual.
Best Wishes
Paul

Reason: No reason

pgoelz
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 11:05 am

Re: SDRUno 1.2 issues

Postby pgoelz » Wed Nov 01, 2017 6:10 pm

Paul wrote:Hi Paul
On my Windows 10 machine using SDRuno 1.2 the top left button (at least on my machine) is a dot/decimal point (associated with direct entry of frequencies in Mhz (together with the "M" - top righr).
See updated use manual.
Best Wishes
Paul

Oh duh! I'm so used to inputting frequency minus the decimal point that I didn't think to check that ;)

Paul

Reason: No reason

alantlk
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2017 1:07 pm

Re: SDRUno 1.2 issues

Postby alantlk » Thu Nov 02, 2017 9:28 am

Hi Paul - the trigger for a waterfall/audio disconnect I found is as a result of a particular sequence of user actions. It's of course conceivable yours was different so it's best for the developers if any other occurrence is separately reported without any colouration from the detail of what I've discovered.

Having said that, for what I found, a click on a zoom button restored normality once I triggered the effect.
Last edited by alantlk on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

pgoelz
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 11:05 am

IF AGC pumping

Postby pgoelz » Thu Nov 02, 2017 10:43 pm

Is there a reason that I am seeing IF gain pumping on v1.2 when IF gain is on auto? I can't remember ever experiencing this on the previous version but on 1.2 it happens once or twice a day. Seems random and certainly not in response to anything in the main waterfall bandpass. Unchecking the AUTO checkbox in the IF gain section stops it instantly. I suppose leaving IF gain on manual and between 30 and 40dB is a workaround, but I'm curious whether there might be a reason for this change.

Paul

Reason: No reason

pgoelz
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 11:05 am

Re: SDRUno 1.2 issues

Postby pgoelz » Fri Nov 03, 2017 5:03 pm

Another small issue.... the previous version remembered the location of the memory bank files. v1.2 does not... you have to navigate to the SDRUno folder each time you want to open a memory bank.

And a question.... is this forum the proper place to provide this kind of feedback? Is it wanted? So far I have received no response from the SDRPlay folks whatsoever in this thread. I'll just go back under my rock if feedback from the field isn't desired. Just trying to help make SDRUno an even better program.....

Paul

Reason: No reason

DF1KZ
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 1:37 pm

Re: SDRUno 1.2 issues

Postby DF1KZ » Fri Nov 03, 2017 5:26 pm

Maybe another small bug:
The value of "Crystal Calibration" is ignored if you "Stop" and "Play" again.
The value is still there but you have to select the value and press "Enter". After that the calibration-value is effective again.

Wolfgang (DF1KZ)

Reason: No reason
SDRplay (RSP1, RSP2 pro) with:
RFsystems DX-10 (14kHz to 50MHz), ICOM Discone AH8000 (10MHz to 2GHz)
12m above ground


Return to “SDRuno”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest