RSP error (tune) SDRuno will terminate

Discussions about everything to do with SDRuno
Post Reply
The Nomads
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2017 10:13 am

RSP error (tune) SDRuno will terminate

Post by The Nomads » Thu Jan 18, 2018 6:17 am

I have just updated to SDRuno Rel 1.22.
Now I find I am having difficulties setting a frequency above 400MHz.
When I attempt a freq above 400MHz, I get the notification of "RSP error (tune) SDRuno will terminate".
This happens if :-
a) I select a freq above 400MHz from the Memory panel
b) If the operating freq is in the 300MHz range and I try to roll the 3 to a 4 with the mouse wheel
c) If I left click in the freq window of the RX Control then enter 400 and hit M to select MHz.
If, however, I select a freq above 400M while the RSP is not "playing" then select "play", I can then select any freq I like, by any method, and all works well. I can go above and below 400M.
If I "Stop" the RSP while above 400M then restart it again, All freqs can still be selected correctly.
If I "Stop" the RSP at a freq below 400M, then restart it, I can then no longer select a freq above 400M.
Any thoughts and suggestions would be appreciated.
I am running an ASUS i7 64 bit Win10 home with the latest Windows updates.
Ray
Last edited by The Nomads on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

g1hbe
Posts: 489
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 3:28 pm
Location: Cheshire, UK

Re: RSP error (tune) SDRuno will terminate

Post by g1hbe » Thu Jan 18, 2018 9:21 am

That's a strange one. I'm sure the team will be able to help, but as a first approach I'd do a reset (OPT menu/reset to default) to see if that clears it.

Reason: No reason
Andy

The Nomads
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2017 10:13 am

Re: RSP error (tune) SDRuno will terminate

Post by The Nomads » Thu Jan 18, 2018 9:39 am

I have now found two additional circumstances which will invoke the RSP error (tune).
1) If I start the RSP above 400M (which allows me to tune freqs above or below 400M), then select a freq below 400M and change the SR (MHz) value in the "Main" panel, then a subsequent attempt to go above 400M will cause the crash.
2) If I start the RSP above 400M, then select the 1.25 meter band in the "RX Control" panel, then return to the 70, 33 or 23 cm bands, the system will crash.
Ray
Last edited by The Nomads on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

Tech_Support
Posts: 492
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 7:00 pm

Re: RSP error (tune) SDRuno will terminate

Post by Tech_Support » Thu Jan 18, 2018 9:48 am

Hello Ray,
We cannot replicate this and there has been no changes in SDRuno in release 1.22 that relate to this aspect of the code. The message that you are getting is caused by the API communicating back to SDRuno that SDRuno has requested an illegal frequency for the RSP, so it is purely a software communication issue. Have you tried resetting your registry g1hbe suggested? Can you also be more precise about the frequency transition that triggers this? Is it a transition from 399 MHz to 400 MHz or from 429 MHz to 430 MHz? Finally, please let us know what hardware you are using.

Sincerely

SDRplay Tech_Support

Reason: No reason

The Nomads
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2017 10:13 am

Re: RSP error (tune) SDRuno will terminate

Post by The Nomads » Thu Jan 18, 2018 9:54 am

Well done Andy (g1hbe). Doing a reset solved the problem. Thank you.
I wasn't convinced of it as a solution because that instance of the program was already the result of a reset.
Ray.
Last edited by The Nomads on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

The Nomads
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2017 10:13 am

Re: RSP error (tune) SDRuno will terminate

Post by The Nomads » Thu Jan 18, 2018 10:40 am

Hello Tech Support.
Thank you for your response.
I have submitted a response to g1hbe's suggestion, but it hasn't been approved yet.
The reset did in fact solve the problem.
As I said in the response, I was doubtful it would solve the problem because that instance of the program was already the result of a reset.
All seems to be well now though.
FYI, it is an RSP2 I am using.
Thanks again,-.
Ray
Last edited by The Nomads on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

korey937
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2019 1:42 am

Re: RSP error (tune) SDRuno will terminate

Post by korey937 » Fri Feb 01, 2019 9:08 pm

I am also having this same problem. I have tried the reset many times but usually, within minutes it stops working and I get this error again. I'm noticing that this only does it when I try to go above 346mhz. I've tried to manually scroll above and tried to select 70cm, 32cm 23cm and so far it crashes whenever I try to do any of those.

Any idea's what I could try to fix this. I"ve only had my RSP2 not even a month yet.

Thanks
Last edited by korey937 on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

g1hbe
Posts: 489
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 3:28 pm
Location: Cheshire, UK

Re: RSP error (tune) SDRuno will terminate

Post by g1hbe » Sat Feb 02, 2019 10:53 am

Is this the crash that happens when you tune through certain band edges? I seem to recall it only happens if you have the 'Gain Reduction' slider set to 'RF Gain' . It's something like that, but I don't recall exactly.

Reason: No reason
Andy

Post Reply