Dump1090 Not Starting

Discussions about everything to do with SDRuno
TimChgo9
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 05, 2019 12:12 am

Dump1090 Not Starting

Postby TimChgo9 » Mon May 13, 2019 7:59 pm

I installed the ADS-B software (Dump1090) and it was working for a while.
Now, when I start it, it doesn't work. I get an error (shown below)
I uninstalled and reinstalled Dump1090, and that didn't help. This started happening
a couple of days ago. Any ideas?

Mon May 13 14:57:58 2019 CDT dump1090-mutability dump1090_mutability_sdrplay starting up.
Using sample converter: SC16, integer path
Couldn't find a RSP
sdrplay_api_ReleaseDevice error: sdrplay_api_InvalidParam
Mon May 13 14:57:58 2019 CDT Normal exit.
Last edited by TimChgo9 on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason
Radio geek in general
Ham (General) Operator since 2016
Shortwave enthusiast since the mid 70's

Martien
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2019 1:48 am

Re: Dump1090 Not Starting

Postby Martien » Mon May 13, 2019 10:39 pm

Hello,

It seems it can't find a RSP device.
Did you get this message when using dump1090 standalone?
Don't know wich RSP you are using but I have the RSPduo and when using SDRuno and dump1090
together you have to set RSPduo MODE in the MAIN window of SDRuno to DUAL (ADS-B)

Best regards,

Martien, PD1G

Reason: No reason

TimChgo9
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 05, 2019 12:12 am

Re: Dump1090 Not Starting

Postby TimChgo9 » Tue May 14, 2019 2:01 pm

I have the RSP2.
HP Pavilion Ryzen 7000
16GB Memory
1TB HDD
4GB Radeon Video card
Windows 10
(Just in case anyone asks. It's a new computer, barely a month old)

Where does one set the "Mode" in the main window? I cannot find it. In any window, Main or otherwise.
Last edited by TimChgo9 on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason
Radio geek in general
Ham (General) Operator since 2016
Shortwave enthusiast since the mid 70's

Martien
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2019 1:48 am

Re: Dump1090 Not Starting

Postby Martien » Tue May 14, 2019 8:55 pm

I didn't know what RSP you have so incase you had the RSPduo I gave those settings, but if you have the RSP2 those won't be there.

I still would like to know if you use dump1090 by it's own and get this error, because if you start SDRuno (or any other SDR program) first then the RSP will not be available for dump1090.

Reason: No reason

TimChgo9
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 05, 2019 12:12 am

Re: Dump1090 Not Starting

Postby TimChgo9 » Tue May 14, 2019 9:10 pm

Oh, by the way, Martien, thanks for the help. I apologize if I came off a tad rude. I really appreciate that you took the time to reply.

So, if I understand correctly, I have to start Dump1090 first? I will try that and let you know what happens.

Again, many thanks.
Last edited by TimChgo9 on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason
Radio geek in general
Ham (General) Operator since 2016
Shortwave enthusiast since the mid 70's

TimChgo9
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 05, 2019 12:12 am

Re: Dump1090 Not Starting

Postby TimChgo9 » Wed May 15, 2019 3:25 pm

It works.
Start Dump1090
Open SDRuno

Thanks for the assistance
Last edited by TimChgo9 on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason
Radio geek in general
Ham (General) Operator since 2016
Shortwave enthusiast since the mid 70's

Martien
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2019 1:48 am

Re: Dump1090 Not Starting

Postby Martien » Thu May 16, 2019 8:47 pm

Good to hear you've got it working.

I was just wondering why you want to open SDRuno after dump1090, don't you get a message from SDRuno that there's no RSP available?

AFAIK (and how I use it) dump1090 works standalone, you don't need SDRuno.

In my case with the RSPduo, if I want I can use one tuner for dump1090 and the other for something else like SDRuno.

If I just want to follow the airplanes, I just start dump1090, then VRS (Virtual Radar Server), in VRS click the link to open the browser and that's it.

Anyway if you need help with dump1090 (changing parameters), with VRS or other decoding software let me know, if I know/use it I'll try to help.

Reason: No reason


Return to “SDRuno”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests