Page 1 of 1

RSP1 vs RSP1A using SDR Console V3

Posted: Fri Feb 16, 2018 6:08 pm
by sv9rxw
Greetings,

I just received the RSP1A and used it. I have also the previous RSP1 and I compared the two using SDR-Console V3. The same AM station signal at 5.955 MHz with RSP1 is at -49 - -50dBm average, whereas using RSP1A the signal is at -71 - 72dB avergage.

Settings for RSP1: RF Gain = Maximum, IF Gain = -45 dB (Manual), Bandwidth = 8 MHz.
Settings for RSP1A: RF Gain = 0 Max, IF Gain = -40 dB (Manual), Bandwidth = 8 MHz.

How can this happen? Am I doing something wrong?


RSP1 image:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1qkkIE6 ... K94YvQsSB/

RSP1A image:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1b56bW ... HR-VIpRS_-

This behavior is the same on all bands from 1kHz to 1GHz.

Any response will be highly appreciated.

Best regards

Re: RSP1 vs RSP1A using SDR Console V3

Posted: Fri Feb 16, 2018 6:36 pm
by Roger
SDR-Console does not display actual dBm levels at the antenna input - only relative levels. The author of SDR-Console has not calibrated his software for actual dBm levels at the antenna input.

SDRuno is the only software package that shows the true signal level in dBm at the antenna input. You can change the RF Gain and the IF gain and SDRuno will still show the actual dBm level.

Re: RSP1 vs RSP1A using SDR Console V3

Posted: Fri Feb 16, 2018 6:58 pm
by sv9rxw
Yes, I was hopping that SDR-Console gain calculation was the problem, but unfortunately the same happens using
SDRUno.

The following screenshot link shows RSP1 vs RSP1A tuned at 430 kHz to receive a nearby NDB.
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1s22eA ... 4-4vDdKLaf

Both experiments are done using the exact same settings at bandwidth 8 MHz.

As it is shown, the difference is 9dB.

Re: RSP1 vs RSP1A using SDR Console V3

Posted: Fri Feb 16, 2018 8:41 pm
by sdrplay
The image on the right is with a RSP1, the Main Window is not right for RSP1A

Please also show the spectrum, as that will show the relationship of the LO to the VFO

Best regards,

SDRplay Support