Feedback for version 1.0a here

Information and discussions on Spectrum Analysis
DaveR
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2018 1:07 am

Re: Feedback for version 1.0a here

Post by DaveR » Fri Mar 22, 2019 3:44 am

Dan_KD9M wrote: I am running into one issue if I use 20 MHz and above it will only run the capture partial of the band width. Each time I click on the band with it will start again but only get a partial or sometimes you can see it do a scan 1.5 times and stop. I am guessing I am missing a simple setting. Any ideas? I am using the RSP1A
I've got the same experience, but it appears to be linked to the centre frequency chosen for the scan: the higher the centre frequency, the higher the maximum usable scan width before it locks up. At 30MHz CF, the max. usable span is only 1MHz; at 50MHz CF, max span is 20MHz; at 150MHz it's 50MHz; at 500MHz it's 100MHz; at 1000MHz it's still 100MHz, but at 1100MHz and above all spans up to and including 500MHz work ok.

This is probably one of the "known problems" that Steve refers to in the manual, and is still being worked on.

Regards,
Dave

Reason: No reason

SteveAndrew
Posts: 207
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 11:06 pm
Location: Gold Coast, QLD, Australia

Re: Feedback for version 1.0a here

Post by SteveAndrew » Fri Mar 22, 2019 7:13 am

Hi Dan
Dan_KD9M wrote: I am running into one issue if I use 20 MHz and above it will only run the capture partial of the band width. Each time I click on the band with it will start again but only get a partial or sometimes you can see it do a scan 1.5 times and stop. I am guessing I am missing a simple setting. Any ideas? I am using the RSP1A
I tried your settings, but at worst, the display seemed to freeze after some minutes or operation. I see that Dave R is experiencing the same problem. I''ll try it with his numbers and see if I can get it to fall over.

Best regards

Steve

Reason: No reason

SteveAndrew
Posts: 207
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 11:06 pm
Location: Gold Coast, QLD, Australia

Re: Feedback for version 1.0a here

Post by SteveAndrew » Fri Mar 22, 2019 7:19 am

Hi JJ
JJ_in_TN wrote:If I change frequency by moving the cursor to the input box and typing a new frequency, then I press Enter, Windows emits the Asterisk sound. Is that intended? I would prefer that it didn't. Using tab to leave the field restores the previous frequency.
Not sure if sound can be disabled or not. Tab key operation has not yet been set up, I'm leaving that until the user interface is locked in.
JJ_in_TN wrote:A change of Span from 1 MHz to 5MHz caused a problem with traces 1 and 2......
I'll have a look at this.

Best regards

Steve

Reason: No reason

SteveAndrew
Posts: 207
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 11:06 pm
Location: Gold Coast, QLD, Australia

Re: Feedback for version 1.0a here

Post by SteveAndrew » Fri Mar 22, 2019 7:21 am

Hi Dave
DaveR wrote:I've got the same experience, but it appears to be linked to the centre frequency chosen for the scan:
Thanks for those figures. I'll have a look and see if I can reproduce the problem here.

Best regards

Steve

Reason: No reason

simon
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2018 5:32 pm

Re: Feedback for version 1.0a here

Post by simon » Fri Mar 22, 2019 8:54 am

HI Steve first thanks for the great piece of software. I have already found it great at finding problems in the ISM band in my area and the multiple trace and peak hold have been a great fucntion as well as now being able to scan wider range of spectrum. SDR paly Tema may need to develope a tracking generator to match the SDRPlay range to work with you software. Looks like the Comunity will realy benefit form it an move the hobies and semi profesional side forward
Thanks. Simon G8HAM
Last edited by simon on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

Dan_KD9M
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2019 3:28 pm

Re: Feedback for version 1.0a here

Post by Dan_KD9M » Fri Mar 22, 2019 1:39 pm

Steve,

If it helps I have done a screen video capture when this is happening. let me know I can send you a link to download from my dropbox.
Last edited by Dan_KD9M on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

User avatar
ThunderTheDog
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2019 7:37 pm

Re: Feedback for version 1.0a here

Post by ThunderTheDog » Fri Mar 22, 2019 4:32 pm

Just tried the alpha version. Works great. I cant seem to find the waterfall view like in the first release. Anyone know how to enable it?
Last edited by ThunderTheDog on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

someYguy
Posts: 119
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2016 7:12 pm

Re: Feedback for version 1.0a here

Post by someYguy » Fri Mar 22, 2019 10:32 pm

Thanks to all involved for a great program for the RSPx receivers. Makes them become useful test equipment.

Reason: No reason

DaveR
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2018 1:07 am

Re: Feedback for version 1.0a here

Post by DaveR » Fri Mar 22, 2019 11:52 pm

SteveAndrew wrote:
DaveR wrote:I've got the same experience, but it appears to be linked to the centre frequency chosen for the scan:
Thanks for those figures. I'll have a look and see if I can reproduce the problem here.
Hi Steve,

I've been looking a bit more at the problem, and it's not as straightforward as it first looked, eg starting at 50MHz centre frequency:

At 50Mhz, max span is 20MHz (stops after 1 sweep at 50MHz).
At 51MHz, max span is 10MHz (stops after 1 sweep at 20MHz).
At 55MHz, max span is 10MHz (stops after 1 sweep at 20MHz).
At 59MHz, max span is 2MHz (stops after 1 sweep at 5MHz).
At 60MHz, max span is 1MHz (stops after half a sweep at 2MHz and above).
At 65MHz, max span is 10MHz (stops after 1 sweep at 20MHz).
At 70MHz, max span is 20MHz (stops after a quarter of a sweep at 50MHz).
At 80MHz, max span is 20MHz (stops after 5MHz at 50MHz).

These results are repeatable over and over, with both an RSP1A and an RSPduo. PC is running 64bit Win7 with 16GB and i7-4770K. I'll try it next on a Win10 laptop to see if the same thing happens.

Regards,
Dave

Reason: No reason

Malmen
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2018 11:46 pm

Re: Feedback for version 1.0a here

Post by Malmen » Sat Mar 23, 2019 1:07 am

I have a win10 laptop with almost the same problem. Only differens is that the scan-freeze is intermittent. Sometimes it sweeps 10 times and sometimes it sweeps 0,3 times. Click STOP and START and you get a different result. With a bit of patiens you can sweep antennas for VSWR so Im happy after all. Thank you for this awesome software!
Last edited by Malmen on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

Post Reply