RSP1A HF Signals

Post information or questions regarding SDRplay products here
KC1KUB

RSP1A HF Signals

Post by KC1KUB » Mon May 06, 2019 7:34 pm

Hello,
I am new to HF operating and have the SDRPlay RSP1A connected to a ~71ft random wire antenna using a 9:1 unun. I am able to get fairly good reception using my new Yaesu DT-891 but the signals on the SDRPlay are very weak and barely show up. My goal is to use the waterfall display to monitor the band and the Yaesu FT-891 for transmitting.

I have an MFJ-1708B device with a control cable that switches the antenna only to the transceiver when the PTT is enabled.

This is all working really well except the signals are extremely weak on the RSP1A. For example, I have attached a QSO in progress which I was monitoring and the signal was very clear on the Yaesu FT-891.

Any advice?
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (131.16 KiB) Viewed 19507 times
Last edited by KC1KUB on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

mikeladd

Re: RSP1A HF Signals

Post by mikeladd » Tue May 07, 2019 4:44 pm

I would bypass the MFJ switch temporarily and run the main antenna into the RSP.
Check that your gain settings are correct within Console. Sometimes console hiccups when making drastic gain changes.
If all looks good in Console put the switch back inline. Note that the switch can create up to a 3dB loss.

KC1KUB

Post by KC1KUB » Tue May 07, 2019 6:51 pm

Thanks - I definitely get much more signal the background/baseline is around -110dBm on the chart. But the signal is not dramatically higher. Maybe it is just that the FT-891 has very good noise reduction etc. But I am finding some signals on the Yaesu by just dialing around that are not showing on the SDR.
Last edited by KC1KUB on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.

g1hbe

Post by g1hbe » Tue May 07, 2019 10:22 pm