Antenna Suitability

Useful information regarding antennas for SDR products.
Post Reply
asimmd
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2019 3:52 pm

Antenna Suitability

Post by asimmd » Wed Aug 21, 2019 3:57 pm

Hi All
I just got my RSP1A today and though i have sat it up as per the default I cant hear anything
only static.
I am using my Silver Rod antenna at the moment and i was wondering if maybe that
was the problem.
Any advice appreciated.
Thanks
Last edited by asimmd on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

g1hbe
Posts: 494
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 3:28 pm
Location: Cheshire, UK

Re: Antenna Suitability

Post by g1hbe » Wed Aug 21, 2019 10:35 pm

You should hear something on your silver rod (I think that is a CB aerial?), so check you are entering the frequency in the right format. If you just enter 99.1<enter>, you'll end up on 99.1 kHz and you'll hear very little. If you want MHz, use the MHz button on the keyboard near the S-meter.
Also set the RF gain slider about 3/4 of the way up.
Last edited by g1hbe on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason
Andy

asimmd
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2019 3:52 pm

Re: Antenna Suitability

Post by asimmd » Fri Aug 23, 2019 11:34 am

Thanks Andy
I think its just down to user error I was so excited to get it working i probably
missed the easy bits.
I suppose now i have had a result i should read the manual but that's boring.

Alan
Last edited by asimmd on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

mike0agner
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2019 2:42 am

Re: Antenna Suitability

Post by mike0agner » Thu Sep 05, 2019 12:12 am

Some better results and advice would be had if we knew what it was you are interested in hearing. Better antenna + Better radio = Better results every time...Mike
Last edited by mike0agner on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

VK3MHZ
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2017 7:24 am

Re: Antenna Suitability

Post by VK3MHZ » Sun Sep 08, 2019 12:38 am

asimmd wrote:
Fri Aug 23, 2019 11:34 am
I think its just down to user error I was so excited to get it working i probably
missed the easy bits.
Ah I still do the same thing after years when entering a freq, will enter say 125.8 [enter] instead of just 125800 [enter].
Easy mistake to make.
Last edited by VK3MHZ on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

steve314
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 10:14 pm

Re: Antenna Suitability

Post by steve314 » Wed Sep 11, 2019 7:55 pm

The frequency display needs improving. When a science student forgets to include a unit (I’m a retired physics teacher), they lose a mark.

For frequency, the display should say Hz, kHz, MHz or GHz after the value. And values should should not contain 2 decimal points. Just my opinion though!
Last edited by steve314 on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

ernestyn
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2019 1:40 pm

Re: Antenna Suitability

Post by ernestyn » Wed Sep 11, 2019 9:26 pm

Not a big problem, when you know!
Last edited by ernestyn on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

Post Reply